Meet Archie!

Hi everyone. I hope you are all having a wonderful weekend!

It has been a while since I have posted due to the trapped nerve which is still not 100% fixed and won’t allow me to sew……

and more recently, this little fellow🙂

Meet Archie the labrador retriever.

Image

Isn’t he gorgeous? Here he is with his Kong. It has been stuffed with grated apple and then frozen. Lovely for a hot day like today.

Image

and again nom nom nom….he just can’t quite get the last bit out!

Image

So there you go. This post is really just to whet your appetite for another blog which will be featuring Archie and all of his adventures soon. I will publish the address in a future post and would love you to follow and share tips and advice. I will definitely be needing both!

Watch this space😀

Leave a comment

37 Comments

  1. Adorable! Cold grated apple – how refreshing.

    Reply
    • Yes, he really enjoyed it. Nice and cool. I hadn’t imagined dogs would like fruit but my blogging friend Jodi had a similar idea. She freezes apple sauce in toys for her dogs🙂

      Reply
  2. Archie is precious! Gotta love lab puppies. We have been parents to three labs, two still with us. They are such a joy (after about three years). Before that, they can be holy terrors! You are doing well with the kong. They love to chew, so give them something the are allowed to chew, otherwise, don’t leave shoes or slippers in harms way. Also, all your trash cans/waste paper baskets need to have lids. Have fun! Can’t wait to follow Archie’s adventures.

    Reply
    • Thank you! He’s sleeping like a baby at the moment🙂 Can’t wait until all of his jabs are done so we can have fun outside the garden. I’ve had a lab about thirty years ago so I know they can be chewers. My last dog learned how to open the fridge so Dad had to put a lock on it. They are a whole lot of fun😀

      Reply
  3. Hi Archie! Welcome and I’m so happy to meet you! You are the sweetest puppy and I’m sure full of energy! I’m looking forward to follow your adventures in your own blog! Be a good boy and don’t eat your mom’s fabrics. x Teje & Nero

    Reply
    • Thanks Teje and Nero😀 Nooooo! He hasn’t been introduced to my sewing room yet. I’m sure he will be a great assistant when the time is right🙂

      Reply
  4. he is beautiful… so lovable xx

    Reply
  5. Oh he’s gorgeous. There seems to be a lot of it around. Several of my friends have recently got puppies and I think it’s probably a matter of time before Mr P gives in to Big J’s pesterings. My mum has had several Labradors/retrievers since we were kids. Her current one is called Merlin and my boys love him.

    Reply
    • Well, I have been waiting for Archie for many years. In the past, work always got in the way. Time to have fun, fun, fun now. I do still work but can choose when and how much which is very fortunate for me. Labs take a lot of your time and energy but they give much more back. I hope you get one soon😀

      Reply
  6. witchylin

     /  August 5, 2012

    Avis he is so adorable. He deserves his very own blog.🙂 I look forward to reading about all his escapades. It didn’t take him long to learn how to get the most from his Kong. dragonflyquiltworks is so right Labs love to chew. I am sure with your good training he will have loads of fun chewing his own toys and not your fabrics, shoes and furniture. Your in for a great ride with this little chap.
    Welcome to this blog Archie and just wait until you see your own!!

    Reply
    • Thank you Witchylin🙂 I will publish the new blog address in my next post. if we hadn’t been keeping a very close eye on him, he would have already had a few holes in things but that is to be expected with a puppy🙂 We’ve managed to channel his enthusiasm into toys he is allowed to chew so far. I haven’t introduced him to my sewing room yet😉 That day could be quite some time in the future. Have a great week! Avis x

      Reply
  7. claire93

     /  August 5, 2012

    a big warm welcome to Archie.

    Reply
    • Thank you Claire. I know you are a cat fan really but Archie is really very cuddly too🙂

      Reply
      • claire93

         /  August 6, 2012

        oh I’m a dog fan too. We have Blackjack, a cross Labrador something, and he’s the life and soul of the party . . . always on the go, always underfoot, and always such a cheerful chappie.

        Reply
        • Oh, I didn’t realise! What a coincidence!!!!! Archie’s Dad’s kennel name is Whistletyne Black Jack😀

          Reply
          • claire93

             /  August 6, 2012

            lol unfortunately our Blackjack’s full name is just Blackjack . . . got him from a dog shelter when he was about 6 months old, and they named him Jack which was a bit short, even for my taste.
            You can see a photo of him here
            http://claire93.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/blackjack-update/
            a right scruffy mutt lol

            Reply
            • We tried rescue centres too. Unfortunately, we had so little experience with dogs, it would have been a mistake for us. Blackjack is lovely🙂 I’m just putting Archie’s blog together now😀

              Reply
  8. lynne

     /  August 5, 2012

    He is adorable!!! Hope you both have lots of fun together, looking forward to following his progress.

    Reply
  9. Welcome Archie! He is adorable and I can’t wait to hear all about his adventures….Hope you get back to sewing soon too!

    Reply
    • I’m 99% OK with my arm most of the time now. Archie is definitely taking my mind off it anyway. I hope to get back to sewing soon but I now have another excuse to blog hehe😉
      Have a lovely week Connie! Avis x

      Reply
  10. oh my!! He is very sweet and will be so much fun

    Reply
  11. So Cute! Normally it’s cats and kittens I swoon after but Archie just broke my heart! Love him. Hope your nerve gets itself untrapped soon and you can get into quilting again..playing with.Archie’s a good replacement i bet!

    Reply
    • So right! Playing with Archie is helping enormously. I’m almost back to being able to sew and can’t wait to start a new project🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  12. So sorry to hear about your trapped nerve, that must be incredibly painful and very distressing as you can’t sew. I couldn’t knit for 5 years and it was like I’d lost an old friend. Archie is just gorgeous, I bet he lifts your spirits.

    Reply
    • Archie has only lived with us since Wednesday but he is settling in really well. My arm has given a lot of pain at times but I’m definitely on the way back to sewing now. I’ve had this problem for about a month now, nothing like your five years. That would have really upset me too🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  13. Archie is adorable! He’s going to be a BIG boy though!

    I hope your nerve problems end soon!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much🙂 My doctor has warned me this could go on for a very long time but I think I am almost there now. Archie is definitely a great distraction from it. Yes, he is going to be a chunky lab. He has been with us for five days now and is learning everything very fast. Must try to keep up with him😀 Avis x

      Reply
  14. Hi Archie! Nice to meet you, mate. Looking forward to visiting your blog.

    Reply
    • What a coincidence Dave!! You’ve just chosen the same theme as The Chronicles of Archie😀 I’m busy writing my first post at this very minute. So glad to see Dave is branching out on his own😉

      Reply
  15. So cute!!!!!! I wish I could have a dog, but the cats says NO!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Cats rule he-he! My neighbours have has two cats and a retriever. They appear to get on OK but they got them all at around the same time….and they’ve got three children too. All are absolutely wonderful. They must be doing something right😀 Must go round there for tips!

      Reply
  16. Archie is such a cutie!! Take lots of pictures while he’s tiny, he’ll grow so fast!

    Reply
  17. Goodness Avis, see what happens when I fall behind in my blog reading!! I knew you were thinking about getting a puppy but had no idea it would be this soon! Congratulations, I think you will love it!!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

