Woe is me….

Hello Happy Crafters!

I’ve been away for a couple of weeks and, against all odds, managed to avoid the rain apart from on one day. I thought you might like to see some photos (mostly poor quality due to being taken on a phone camera).

We stayed for 3 nights near Grassington which is a very pretty village in the Yorkshire Dales, Wharfedale to be precise. It was raining during most of the nights and on the surrounding hills but miraculously, we didn’t get wet once.

Image

Unfortunately, while we were there, the village was always full of cars, which aren’t so pretty, but the bunting and flower boxes made up for that. They really make an effort in the Dales. There was an amazing little shop FULL of cross-stitch and embroidery kits. If I hadn’t gone away armed with two new kits, I would definitely have found plenty to try in there.

Image

Can you see the Robin Reliant three wheel car on the right? When I was about 10 years old, my best friend’s Dad had one of these. I remember they had an accident in it when the front axle snapped! All escaped uninjured thankfully. I think you only had to have passed a motor bike test to be allowed to drive a three wheeler in those days (I could be wrong about that).

Image

Quite quaint, isn’t it?

While out on a wander, we spotted this holiday chalet. Holiday chalet WOW! I’d be interested to see where they live when not on holiday. This chalet is fabulous! HUGE😀

Image

While were in the area, we visited Skipton. It is a relatively small market town and I was struck by the number of charity shops there were. It was a lovely place which I hadn’t been to before with lovely friendly and welcoming local people. I loved the Craven Shopping Centre and the market on the cobbled areas in the main street. Here is the shopping centre, very light and airy.

Image

Image

Image

I’m not usually into shopping centres but this one had some independent shops so it was a nice change from the usual boring diet of national chains which seems to fill too many towns in the UK (in my opinion).

Image

I love the stone flooring.

Image

And here is the wrought iron staircase outside.

Image

There were lots of lovely places to eat out but we were recommended Bizzie’s and I’m a sucker for take-out fish and chips. They were lush🙂

There was also a lovely canal, complete with a few narrow houseboats (one was for sale).

Image

Image

There is clearly a lot more to Skipton than we had time to see. We’ll definitely be returning to cycle along the canal tow path one day.

Next, onto Kendal where we stayed in the woods……and got bitten by insects…..and somehow I trapped a nerve in my left shoulder …..and sprained my ankle. More on that later….

We’ve been to Kendal many times before so we did a few walks around and about, especially near the River Kent. We crossed a lovely little suspension bridge (I have a thing about this magical feat of engineering).

Image

The notice says “No more than 25 people to be on the bridge at any one time”.

Image

We also walked up and along one of the local ridges to the triangulation point on the Helm, the highest point in the area with 360 degree views of the surrounding countryside. We did go on to spend time in Dumfries and Galloway which is beautiful but from this point on, there are no photos of my holiday.

Reasons? Well, I was already nursing the trapped nerve in my shoulder (diagnosis confirmed by my doc after I’ve put up with 10 days of pain before going to see him this morning. Well, us girls do have a high pain threshold, don’t we??) Then, when I came out of the shower one morning, I slipped on my flip-flop (stop that tittering now!!) and sprained my right ankle. So, I had bites on my right hand and arm, a trapped nerve in my left shoulder and a sprained right ankle. To be fair DH was more badly bitten than me and he was coping well. So what were we to do? We were on holiday…..get over it. Two days later, DH sprained his right ankle while walking, me hobbling😀, along a lane. We looked for pot holes or any reason why this happened….there were none. What a pair we are!

In my last post I said I would show a slow release of my work in progress on a new project, the one I was taking on holiday. Here are the first three days of work (rubbish photos) but I’m not telling what it is. Doesn’t look like anything at the moment😦

Image

Image

No more sewing was done😦 after the first 3 days.

And finally, as I’m back home, an old photo of the cliffs close to my house. I like the sky on this one, typically British summertime sky.

Image

I have missed so much that you have all been up to while I was away so it will be some time before I catch up with all my lovely bloggy pals. I’ll try to do that over the next few days. Don’t expect to see any sewing from me in the near future. At the moment, it just isn’t possible😦

Ha-ha! I was just checking this over before publication and noticed the sign in the centre of the first shopping centre picture. I didn’t notice that as I took the photo….ironic or what?

Have fun, Avis x

Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  July 17, 2012

    so sorry to hear that your holidays ended with you both “in the wars”
    still, it looks like you had a lovely time, catching all the sights, and enjoying the English countryside.

    Reply
  2. Yup, “Pain Relief”!!! LOL! So appropriate for all your mishaps;-( Thoroughly enjoyed your pics…..the towns are quite quaint and lovely; you are so correct about the shopping areas/malls. Here (USA) they have become so generic that there is little enticement to shop/spend. I am beginning to believe that the independent shops’ successes owe much to this situation as, I am sure, others are driven away by the monotony (unless one is so tightly tied to a certain $$ amount that would be fulfilled in that environment!)! Having just returned from a 1 week holiday of sorts myself, I can understand your feeling of being so long away from your “bloggy friends”…….welcome home!!!!! and I hope you (and DH) are on the mend;-)

    Reply
    • Yep! Just my shoulder to sort out now🙂 Most towns I’ve visited over the last few years have the same shops, even down to the flooring and shelves and the shopping centres all look the same too. The little embroidery shop was so refreshing to see. I’ve just noticed the lack of blue in all of the skies in those pics. I’ll be taking a peek at what you’ve been up to very soon🙂

      Reply
  3. Thanks so much for sharing – I love seeing all the different places people go and what they see. Soo sorry to hear of your mishaps and injuries – hope you are both on the mend and feeling in tip top shape soon.

    Reply
    • Aw thank you🙂 I like to see everyone’s photos too. Usually, I don’t take pictures when on holiday but Skipton and Grassington were photogenic and unique. I’ll definitely revisit when the sun shines again😀

      Reply
  4. Grandma and Grandad Patch were in Grassington a week or two ago on their hols too. It is very pretty. And I know Kendal too. Nice places you go. Maybe you need a holiday to get over your holiday lol!!

    Reply
  5. Sorry to hear your holiday wasn’t quite as relaxing as it was supposed to be. Hope the shoulder is better soon so you can start sewing again.🙂

    Reply
  6. Goodness, what a palaver! Ice your shoulder – could also alternate it with heat too. Really hope it feels better soon.
    On a happier note, it sounds like you had a nice time! And well done for avoiding the rain. Must be something about Yorkshire – I went for the few sunny days we had earlier this year and it was lovely!

    Reply
    • thanks for those tips! Heat is working a little but there are a few positions where it is excruciating😦 I think the Dales must have a micro climate. We could almost always see rain being dropped, just not on us😀

      Reply
  7. witchylin

     /  July 18, 2012

    Love your pictures Avis, I am so pleased you avoided almost all the rain but I am so sorry you were both injured. I did laugh at the pain relief stand. Sorry shouldn’t laugh at other peoples misfortunes but thought you’d forgive me this time. I sincerely hope you are both 100% very soon.
    As I live in Yorkshire I can confirm it DOES rain and heavily too.🙂 Was at the great Yorkshire Show on the first day of the three day event, working on the Women’s Institute Stand. It had taken us 3 hours to get there instead of 1 because of the weather, park and ride car parks had been arranged as the show ground parking was just a mud bath. It poured with rain most of the day. When we left at 5 we had to wade through mud to the car and then drive out over a lane that resembled a small stream. Later that night it was decided to close the show. The first time in 154 years it was closed due to bad weather. So sad for all the exhibitors and folk with tickets for the next two days. I discovered a lovely lady with a small shop called Cool Crafting. She had some cute items and ribbons printed with “made with love”, “hand made by” etc, so I bought some to add to my crafting. Also found a quilting shop with 100s of wonderful fabrics. They will be at the quilting show in August/September so hope to go to the show ground again and buy some fabric for the next couple of quilts.
    Take care of that shoulder Avis.

    Reply
    • Of course I forgive you😀 I heard on the radio that the show had been cancelled and I can certainly understand why. To be honest I thought the whole show was off. At least they managed to get one day I suppose. Trouble is, people and traders travel far and wide to the Yorkshire Show and several stay for the duration. What a shame it was a washout😦 There should be more quilting shows in the north as the only options for us are really Harrogate and Edinburgh to do comfortably in a day. We’ve been to the Edinburgh one twice and never again! I’m going to the Quilt Show in Harrogate in September but I don’t know which day yet. My sister is getting the tickets and I think Mum is coming too. We usually need to find her a chair after a while so she can just rest and take in the atmosphere but she does love to see the quilts and to have a day out. Might be able to say “hello!” if we are there at the same time. Avis x

      Reply
      • witchylin

         /  July 18, 2012

        That would be brilliant Avis. Let me know which day and I will endeavour to get there the same day. I have not planned the trip yet so am open to any day. My friend will probably be with me as she is getting interested in making a quilt to cover her baby grand piano. I promised to help her and the show is a great place to start. There will be lots to motivate her and have me drooling!!!!🙂

        Reply
  8. Get well soon!! Lovely countryside, all is green and tidy. With a hot and sunny summer here in Spain I would really like some of your rain and drizzle.

    Reply
    • Thanks🙂 I wouldn’t wish this weather on anyone else. I know we are a bit obsessed about the weather in the UK but just a couple of days of blue skies would make a nice change😀

      Reply
  9. It has been quite some time since I traveled to Europe. Your photos do bring back memories and yearnings. Hopefully some day soon again. Thank you for sharing those lovely pictures.

    Reply
    • To be honest my favourite part of the holiday was in Scotland but I’ve been there so many times now that I rarely take a camera out with me. Next time, I’ll get more photos to share🙂
      Welcome back any time😀 Avis x

      Reply
  10. Hope you have had a nice holiday, inspite of all “accidents”🙂 I´ve missed you! Do you really live so near the sea? Sooooo nice!!! Looks beautiful.
    And I spot the swedish flag🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Aw thank you Gun! Yes I can spot the Swedish flag too😀 The sea is at the bottom of my street, just five minutes walk from home and I can watch the boats sailing to and from Gothenburg from the location in the photo. We (my family) call the boats Jensmobils because my daughter’s Swedish friend Jens came here on the boat to stay with us a few years ago🙂 The holiday was lovely! Avis x

      Reply
  11. What a lovely blog, so easy to read and I loved your photo’s..I’m new to this blogging lark so I’ve been having a browse when I came across yours. I’m a cross -stitcher too and I’m off to the Dales next weekend, lets hope the weather is good. I can’t work out what your project is but I’m going to keep watching your progress😉
    I hope your shoulder gets better soon.

    Reply
    • It could be a while! I mainly do quilting so you are welcome to take a look through the archives on the right. Thanks for taking time to visit and for following🙂
      Have a great time in the Dales!! Happy weekend. Avis x

      Reply
  12. Love all the Pictures Avis, me and Hubby have always thought a UK holiday would be great experience. Maybe someday. And the cliffs near your home!! gorgeous! I have only seen pictures in knitting books like that. So sorry to hear about your shoulder, I know what that can be like. and your ankles.. oh dear.. sorry I did snicker a little because it sounds like something I would do ( slipping on a flip flop.🙂 take care and hope you are back to sewing in no time

    Reply
    • Thank you🙂 I’m getting much better now! I am very lucky to live only five minutes walk from where the picture of the cliffs is taken. It would be wonderful if you could holiday in the UK (not sure where you are from). If you like quiet, peaceful and scenic, whether that is countryside or coastal, I could recommend many places to visit throughout England and Scotland. I have just been getting a puppy and trying to put together a blog for him during his naps. Sewing is taking a back seat again🙂 Have a great week! Avis x

      Reply
  13. Thank you Avis I will keep that in mind🙂 should we decide to travel to the UK. I live in Alberta Canada, but I’m originally from the East Coast of Canada. I like the way you have your blog laid out. I don’t have mine quite the way I would like it.. between stitching and blogging and the one hundred other things on my “to do” list, I’m sure my blog will stay the way it is for a while 🙂 And thank you for following my blog too.. have a great day.. Isabel

    Reply
    • Oh thank you very much🙂 The template I chose is Comet. I was going to use it for the blog I’ve just started about my puppy Archie but it is no longer available so I chose Dusk to Dawn. You can change themes any time. I think everything just gets transferred to the new layout but check that first. It was much easier to set up the second blog having already done this one🙂
      If you are interested, the address is http://www.chroniclesofarchie.wordpress.com. You might like that theme too😀

      Reply
  14. that all looks lovely, I recognise a few places too.
    Great areas to holiday.

    Reply
  15. Good morning Avis! I have so enjoyed reading your holiday adventures, and seeing the lovely Yorkshire dales again … and I am sorry to say, I did have a little titter! Well, it’s the interesting way you write you know :o) But I love your holiday attitude ….. just Get On With It! Archie ….. Adorable Archie! I will keep up with his development on his own blog. In fact it is with great difficulty that I am typing this comment ….. Bella is sprawled all over my knee and I am having to turn sideways to type!!! Well, she is so comfy shame to disturb her – so just Get On With It Val! By the way, you are quite right about the motor bike license and the Robin Reliant.
    Thank you for visiting my blog though I haven’t been blogging for a long while, you gave me a great encouragement to see your comment this morning. Have a lovely weekend, back at the beautiful place that you are blessed to call Home
    Val xx

    Reply
    • We laughed about it too even though, at times, I was in a great deal of pain! The amazing thing is, if we hadn’t come home early we wouldn’t have Archie. Some things are just meant to be🙂 Archie has been for his second set of vaccinations this morning and had his identity microchip inserted. The vet said they could do it today or when he gets neutered in about 3 months time. She said they sometimes squeal. I opted to have it done as I’d hate to lose him. DH excused himself from the room😆 Archie didn’t even whimper…..there were too many treats to snaffle ha-ha!! I know what you mean about interrupting their comfy moments, especially when they snuggle up to you. Until I was about the age of 10 I used to go to see my godmother’s Jack Russell mix up every day (Judy) and I used to love her on my knee even if I was dying to go to the toilet I wouldn’t move her🙂 My blogging, especially the quilting one has taken a back seat too as I’ve been away, ill or just busy. So even if you aren’t writing, keep up the reading🙂 We really are so fortunate to be sharing a lovely community on WordPress🙂 Take care, Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

