Gift Box Quilt WIP Report

Hello lovely people from all around the world🙂 Isn’t the internet amazing!!

I’ve been making more blocks from half square triangles today. If you want to learn a quick way to make squares from half square triangles, read my previous post here. There are so many different ways to arrange these squares to give lots of different patterns and secondary patterns. I’ve used a five inch charm pack of 42 squares with another 42 five inch squares of bright white Moda Bella Solids to make 42 blocks like this.

Image

If you swap the left and right columns of the patches in the photo above you would get lovely pinwheels. My tutorial for pinwheels is here.

I did actually intend to make pinwheels but then I stopped just before sewing the final seam and thought “I’ve made lots of pinwheels before.”  That was enough to make me change my plan. So I’m calling these ones Gift Box blocks because they remind me of some origami gift boxes I’ve made before.

This is what they look like on the back. I like the way all the seams lie nice and flat without any need for snipping at the centre.

Zooming in on the centre…

Anyway, my 42 little Gift Boxes have now all been sashed with bright white this afternoon and I hope to quilt the top soon.

It is still chucking the heavens down here and it has been dark all day again. Maybe the sun will shine tomorrow……

What have you all been up to? I must go and take a look😀 Avis x

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. My gosh Avis! You have been much busier sewing wise than me! It has been awful weather here, one monment thunder and lightening the net bright sunshine. Luckily I’ve been inside all day packing the books in my bedroom…would you believe I’m upto 150 and still have loads to go? Me either :S

    Reply
  2. Yes, the weather is pants! I’ve had plenty of time to sew this week so I’m making the most of it. I’m not surprised you have so many books. Me too! I love my crafty ones🙂

    Reply
  3. witchylin

     /  June 29, 2012

    It has certainly been quilting weather here too. Thank you for the close up of the back of your ‘gift boxes’. I can see how you do it now. You are right it does lie flat and looks neat. Looking forward to seeing the blocks together. I think your colour choices are fabulous. The white will really set it off. I have to admit my book collection is huge and now there is a whole new section being added…..Quilting books!🙂 On the last count the total number of all the different books in the big book case and all over the den is 1,378. 😯

    Reply
    • Thanks Witchylin. You can never have enough books. Good insulation if nothing else🙂 I didn’t actually like this charm pack when I opened it up. Now I love it. I’ll explain later….

      Reply
  4. We´ve had a sunny day here in Uppland. Tomorrow is another day🙂 Hopefully no rain! I´m sewing on my String Twist Quilt, but if the weather is fine I can sit in the garden and quilt.
    Hugs, Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Yesterday, there was torrential rain here. In town, three miles from here, there were floods in houses and shops. We were so lucky that it missed us. Also, the Tyne Bridge was struck by lightning. Video here:

      I didn’t get time to quilt today so I’m off to get my quilting fix from your blog now😀 Avis x

      Reply
  5. What a pretty fabric combination. And what fabulous inspiration to get me on to my next block. Mine are very slow in the making but I am determined not to stop!

    Reply
    • Well, pop back in a couple of days. I’m busy quilting the top at the moment. You may change your mind about the fabrics. I was less than happy when I opened the charm pack but now I love them all🙂

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

