A bit of a mixed bag to say the least!

Happy Friday everyone! I hope you are all looking forward to a crafty weekend πŸ™‚ I am!

Today’s post is a real lucky dip of delights. I’ve been out in the garden, doing a bit of sewing πŸ™‚ and collecting three awards.

I’ll kick off with the awards which all came in within hours of each other a couple of days ago. The rules of acceptance are going to be broken as usual πŸ˜†

Thank you very much to the lovely Amy atΒ suchthelikeΒ for two!! awards, The Sunshine Blogger and One Lovely Blog. Reading Amy’s blog is like reading a great magazine. It is full of fab ideas on all sorts of topics. Β Go on, take a look for yourselves. Thanks also to my friend Β Hutch at DoublebarreloutdoorsΒ who also nominated my blog for the One Lovely Blog award. Hutch is an expert wildlife photographer from the deck of his houseboat. Hop over and take a look at the egrets. You’ll also find Benny, his gorgeous labrador πŸ™‚

Now, I’ll tell you all more things about me and hope you find them interesting πŸ™‚

1. I use far too many emoticons but I don’t care πŸ˜† because they make me smile πŸ˜€

2. I suffer withdrawal symptoms when I don’t sew.

3. I like all kinds of music but prefer silence.

4. I enjoy cycling when the weather is good.

5. I love homemade corned beef, onion and potato pie and prefer savoury to sweet.

6. I think my photography is improving (at last) but the weather is still against me.

7. I’m still looking out for the right dog.

Rather than nominate blogs again this time, I’m going to add a blog roll to the right hand side of the page so you can all follow the links to some of my favourites whenever you wish. Is that a deal?

Now for some photos…..

Any ideas what this is?

Need another clue?

Now you should get it….

Still don’t know what it is?

This poppy revealed itself from a bud to this flower in three hours yesterday. Oooh the power of the sun! And today, the rain smashed it to pieces 😦

Next up, my sewing. Lots of lovely squares, 160 to be precise. These are going to become Ohio stars I think. However, by the time I get back to the sewing machine, I could have changed my mind. I’ve used up another birthday charm pack by Moda called Fa La La La. The colours are warm and rich. I’ve teamed it up with some ivory and burgundy Moda Bella Solids which are my favourites.

I put the dark charms with the ivory and the light charms with the burgundy. There are a few hints of olive green in there too. We’ll see how it turns out.

Its fun starting new projects πŸ™‚ I might be more adventurous with my quilting of this one….jumping the gun a bit there Β πŸ™‚

I’ll be catching up with all your latest creations over the weekend and I’ll sort out a blog roll too.

There is one other thing I’d like to mention. This one could be turned into a book or a play or a film or….

Stevie, my bloggy pal and his girlfriend from notwithoutthebike have continued their journey through France, Spain and Portugal on their Harley. Stevie kept mentioning that he had some business to attend to and that he was heading for a particular location, camping along the way. I’ve been following his journey for weeks now and his posts of his travels are fantastic (particularly if you like motor bikes). I’ll let you go off and find out where he ended up πŸ™‚

Have a wonderful weekend! Thank you so much for all the lovely comments you have made. I really enjoy reading them all πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. We had a beautiful poppy out yesterday and now it has suffered the same fate as yours? Boy, did it rain. And now the wind is getting really strong too. Fortunately there are more poppy heads yet to open. Your squares look interesting, looking forward to their development.

    Reply
  2. I haven’t been down the garden to investigate but ours could be squashed too. Fingers crossed.

    Reply
  3. Well deserved awards (in my humble opinion!!!)!!!! Lovely poppy. Mine failed to survive the winter this year….sad! Will be watching to see how all your HST lovelies go together!! Hugs…..

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  June 23, 2012

    well done on winning all those awards Avis, and look forward to seeing your new patchwork being assembled

    Reply
  5. I love reading your posts. I really need to get back at my sewing as I am also missing it! Maybe after my hair cut – also long over due! πŸ™‚ Love emocons too! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. In our “new” home garden, we also have poppies. Some are blooming and some are on their way! ItΒ΄s a beautiful flower. So big and so red πŸ™‚ Today, when the weather is not so good, IΒ΄m doing a lot of handpiecing.
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • The poppies we have don’t produce seeds even thought the seed heads do grow. The dragonflies love to sit on top of them in the sunshine πŸ™‚ Enjoy the hand piecing! Avis x

      Reply
  7. witchylin

     /  June 23, 2012

    Avis, those colours are fabulous together. Please post more pics as you get on with the project. Shame about your poppies. Ours have not appeared at all this year. Too much water and frosts I think. Went to Woolfest in Cockermouth today and thought of you and Doreen when I found some different fat quarters on a stand called Sewsisters. They had some very different fabrics. I resisted buying any because I have enough to keep me busy for quite a while. Did buy a multi-coloured top of merino wool to needle felt at some stage. I also bought a rickrack edging to finish off my green-man quilt in a deep cream. Can’t sew again until Monday too much to do tomorrow. I would use a sad face emoticon if I could work out how to add them to these posts.!!!

    Congratulations on winning three awards. (Smiley face)

    Reply
    • Sounds like a great day out. My sister has picked up knitting again. She would have loved a trip to Cockermouth. Yes, I’ve seen some of Sewsisters stock before. Their fabrics are lovely. I’ve been sewing today and have got 12 Ohio Stars completed. I usually wait until I’ve got all the blocks completed, but this time, I’ve joined them together as I finished each row of four. Pictures and possibly a tutorial will follow. The Green Man quilt is coming along now….The emoticons are quite straightforward. Just type
      : (colon) then – (hyphen) then ) (closed bracket) for a smiley face. Some bloggers don’t enable emoticons so don’t worry if they don’t appear when you type them on anyone else’s. Have fun πŸ™‚ Good luck with the sewing on Monday! Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

