Warts and all!

Here is the progress of my hand piecing effort ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m partly regretting using solids (which are my favourite fabrics) because they have shown up every imperfection, including my use of white thread! I’m posting a large photo,ย so you can see it warts and all ๐Ÿ˜† At least I’ve learned a lot after making just one block. It finished atย five inches square andย seemed likeย aย lot of work for such a tiny piece! However, It was well worthย doing in my eyes and I’ll certainly be making more soon ๐Ÿ˜€ In the meantime…..I’m missing my machine sew much! I might just have to go and give it a workout.

Here is a link to Cathi’s blog. Her hand piecing is my inspiration ๐Ÿ™‚

Hopefully you are all enjoying the wonderful sunshine too ๐Ÿ˜€

Image

ย 

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Avis, You have a ton of patience/perseverance! Not seeing the underside of the area where the center points come together, I’m not sure if this is an applicable point but if the seam allowances are all pressed the opposite direction from the way they are now the center points may all come together closer. Again, am not sure about that, but I know it works for me when I have missed it a bit!! This will be stunning when you come to putting the sections together. Hugs, D

    Reply
    • Hi Doreen, There is a little pinwheel on the back in the centre. I’ve pressed it round in the opposite direction and it didn’t seem to make a difference. I think I probably need to make one tiny diddly extra stitch when approachiing the middle in future. I was being a little cautious! Good try though, I was already calling you a genious in my head as I was re-pressing ๐Ÿ˜‰ I might just put an extra stitch through the back of the middle tonight. Avis x

      Reply
  2. You are brave! I like that block, warts and all. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  May 26, 2012

    I’m sure you’ll be able to hide the warts when you quilt it ^^

    Reply
    • He-he! Thanks Claire. That could be jumping the gun a little. Quickly calculating……number of hours taken to make one block multiplied by number of blocks required for a quilt. I’m not sure I will live that long ๐Ÿ˜†

      Reply
  4. I was going to say I like warts… But that’s not quite what I mean ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  5. Exactly what I was thinking of. ๐Ÿ™‚ In a Japanese book I’ve seen them make a stitch through all of the points before sewing the pieces together, like beads on a chain. Talking of beads, I usually sew one into the center if I messed it up. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
    • Jule! You keep reading my mind ๐Ÿ™‚ I thought a star shaped button would do the trick. The next one will be better because I’ll definitely stitch in the middle. Tomorrow, I’m going to break my own rule. I’m going to start another project without completing this one. It has been in my head for a while…..no guessing ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  6. Avis it looks great and a star button in the middle will make it perfect. I do love the pattern and I admire your patience. You must have loads of it. Hand quilting is only a dream of mine. I am always in too much of a hurry to get projects finished whatever they are!!!!!! Just cutting out the pieces would have me a gibbering wreck. LOL. I don’t blame you for going on to another project. You certainly need a rest after the first square. How about you do a square between projects and as claire93 says, make a cushion cover or two.

    Reply
    • That’s the plan. I can pick this one up and put it down. Everything is in my sandwich box so it is just sitting by the sofa ๐Ÿ™‚ I really enjoy the cutting out process so it was no big deal for me but I don’t like using up scraps and seeming to make more scraps! Have a great day. Avis x

      Reply
  7. The block is beautiful! The warts are pretty small – I believe some of the imperfections make it that much more precious! My first quilt was hand pieced, but I did start with 12 1/2″ blocks – I like the hand stitching from time to time. Keep up the good work. The cushion idea is a good one for a first effort – start with little steps. It’s like machine quilting, practice, practice, practice – they keep getting easier & better.

    Reply
    • Yes, I’ll definitely keep trying to improve ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve got some great tips from everyone so the next block should be better. Avis x

      Reply
  8. Your block is nice! I like handpiecing. Right now Iยดm sewing my DearJane quilt by hand. My connection to the net is a little slow and while Iยดm waiting, Iยดm sewing. This evening I almost finished block D 11 when I was surfing around the net (mostly quiltbloggers) ๐Ÿ™‚
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • That is quite a challenge you have set yourself. Hand piecing is going to be great for all of those spare few minutes ๐Ÿ™‚ Have fun!

      Reply
  9. I prefer hand sewing. I’m not sure why, just because I think I can’t get control of the sewing machine speed and then whoops, my lines aren’t strait! LOL I think it’s lovely.

    Reply
    • Thanks! It does take a while to get the hang of the power of a machine but I do like the speed I can put things together that way ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  10. It looks great ๐Ÿ™‚ things you do yourself always look imperfect because you always say to yourself it’s worse than it is. When most other people look at your work they don’t see the imperfections ๐Ÿ˜› It looks great!

    Reply
    • Thanks Amy! It isn’t bad for a first try, I’ll admit that. But I know where the errors are too. I enjoyed it and that is what matters most. I’ll make more when I have time ๐Ÿ™‚ Nice to see you around again by the way!

      Reply
  11. You’ve been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award here: http://byhookorbypen.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/versatile-blogger-award/

    My congratulations to you.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

