Just a bit of Friday fun!

Happy Fun Friday everyone🙂

I thought I would share a little starter with you today…..my first attempt at hand piecing. Here are my lovely little (and they are tiny) pieces, not pieced as yet.

Image

Actually, the dark blue is really a rich purple, the purple you get on Cadbury’s Dairy Milk chocolate….mmmmmm.

I’ve cut diamonds, squares and triangles and I’m ready to sew. I’ve always wanted to hand piece something really intricate. Here I go running before I can crawl again!! So, hopefully this is only the start of a new adventure. I did intend to sew just a few together before telling the world I’m giving this a go, just in case I’m hopeless at it! However, I couldn’t resist showing you all my little box of Moda Solids treasures. I hope you like them too🙂

As always, any advice to help me to avoid pitfalls would be gratefully received😀

Image

Have a lovely weekend😀 Avis x

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

27 Comments

  1. needlenotions

     /  May 25, 2012

    Hand piecing is fun but takes a while, good luck. Also I know what you mean by running before you can crawl. I hand pieced the first quilt I made last year.

    Reply
    • Well, the weather has been so nice these last couple of days. It seems a shame to be in a sewing room when I could be in the garden …… but I still need my sewing fix🙂

      Reply
  2. I really do love hand piecing/handwork. Have some hexies cut for our summer times at the camper. Am preparing a couple of felt pieces that will have a bit of blanket stitch with perle cotton on them after they are needle felted in place. Today looks to be a gorgeous day, tomorrow-storms and Sunday in the 90’s and super humid. Welcome Summer time! Hugs, D

    Reply
    • I really enjoy blanket stitch. It does a great job of finishing edges nicely🙂 I hope it isn’t too stormy tomorrow!! We’ve been out for a walk without coats and jumpers today, first time this year😀

      Reply
  3. Elisabeth

     /  May 25, 2012

    I wounder what pattern you sew with these tiny pieces. I always chose English Paper Piecing when I want to hand sew. Also tried to appliqué, but that is not my cup of tea.
    You cut off the points so tidy. Cannot wait to see your first block! Have a nice weekend!

    Reply
    • Thank you Elisabeth🙂 I haven’t tried paper piecing or applique yet but I would love to try. I have made cushion covers by foundation piecing and they were a dream to put together😀 Avis x

      Reply
  4. I think I know how the block is going to look like. Different colour combinations, 9 blocks judging by the amount of pieces?🙂 Have fun piecing in the garden!

    Reply
    • So clever Jule! I’m not sure about the number of blocks yet as I haven’t even counted the pieces myself. If it turns out to be 9 then I’ll congratulate you again. I should have one block to show you tomorrow😀 Best wishes from sunny UK!!

      Reply
  5. I find hand piecing really soothing and while you’re in the block piecing stage, the pieces are still small enough to carry around.🙂 Enjoy the lovely weather!

    Reply
    • Yes, everything including scissors are tucked up in that sandwich box. It is so portable. Such a shame I can’t fit the iron in there😀 Avis x

      Reply
  6. I did paper piecing on my sampler quilt. The tip we were given was to use the paper wrapper from the outside of a ream of photocopier paper as it was slightly waxed on one side and could be ironed on to the fabric to save tacking it on. It was a VERY long time ago so not sure if the wrappers are still waxed now?? Colours are lovely. I love that cadburys purple. Can’t wait to see your progress😉

    Reply
    • I’ve used a freebie from Inklingo. The fabric is ironed onto freezer paper then put through an inkjet printer.The shapes are printed onto the fabric then the freezer paper is removed before the pieces are rotary cut. It seems good so far, except I only had white thread so it is showing a bit! There’s about half an hour of work left on the first block. I’ll post a pic tomorrow. Have a great weekend🙂

      Reply
  7. Cunning plan! I have heard of freezer paper being used too. Printers are SO useful, who’d have thought!

    Reply
    • I know! Its a very clever idea😀 However, I’m not sure my paper will last as many times as they say (about 20). It is already looking very linty after only 3 times.

      Reply
  8. witchylin

     /  May 26, 2012

    OOOh! So looking forward to seeing that first block. Love the colours. This one will be a real labour of love. While it is still in the little blocks it will be perfect for sewing outside in the sun. I can’t believe the pieces are so tiny. Against the 5p you really understand how small they are and how much sewing you are going to do. It will be amazing when it is finished. So you started running before crawling, however you have quilting experience so it isn’t the first piece you have tried. Sure your past quilts will give you the running shoes you need!!!!
    Please keep us posted with the work in progress.

    Reply
    • Thank you Witchylin😀 I’m busy with it now but I must put it down as I’ve got work to do before lunchtime. I’ll post a pic later today. Have a lovely weekend. Avis x

      Reply
  9. You might want to check out Jinny Beyer’s website (www.jinnybeyer.com). She has some books and CDs on the topic. She hand pieces all of her quilts. I think it would help iyou to mark the intersection at the “Y.” I like to mark the whole stitching line. It has been a while since I hand pieced anything. I have tried English paper piecing also, but I think I prefer hand piecing. Jinny’s book on Patchwork Puzzle Balls is a fun, small project to get one started with hand piecing. She also sells templates for the patchwork puzzle ball pieces. I love my sewing machine, but hand piecing is great fun when you can’t be with your sewing machine.

    Reply
    • Thank you for visiting my blog🙂 I’ve used Inklingo so the intersections and sewing lines are marked like you suggest. I’ll certainly take a look at Jinny’s site. I’m sure I have seen some of her work before. The puzzle balls sound like good fun too! Thanks so much for the inspiration. I’m just about to post my progress🙂 Have a lovely day. Avis x

      Reply
  10. wow! tiny pieces but what fun. I love doing this by hand and it has reminded me that I have a part finished blanket in reds and whites that i might pick up again.

    Lovely

    Reply
    • Come on Tiny! Let’s have a race to finish😆 I’m really enjoying it. I don’t know why I haven’t done hand piecing before🙂

      Reply
  11. Hi Avis! How wonderful that you’ll do hand piecing! I haven’t and I shall folow with interest how it goes – tell me the truth later if it’s just too much time taking! But first I have some cross stitiching to crawl! x Teje

    Reply
    • Well, the truth is….it takes a rediculous amount of time and I don’t think it is held together half as well as a machined piece. Just my opinion of course! However, it is very enjoyable and I’ll definitely sew more blocks. Enjoy your cross stitching🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  12. love the colour. Cadbruy purple is one of the colours of my wedding dress😉

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

