Sunshine and sea……nope!

Hello Sunday bloggers🙂

Yesterday, I was hoping for bright sunshine so I could take my latest finish to be photographed by the sea. I always find Teje’s photographs do real justice to the lovely things she makes but the light in this neck of the woods simply doesn’t oblige. You would think, in spring time we would have sunshine and showers. Well, we’ve had plenty of showers!!

Anyway, I took the quilt outside to the garden instead to get as much natural light as possible and here is the result. The colours are much more true to life than in the previous post which looked a bit washed out compared to the real thing.

I quilted it with a meander wiggle but did consider densely quilting only in the white areas. I decided that would have pushed the lattice into the background and I wanted the squares to appear to be behind the grid. I also thought about a white binding but decided on another blue frame to mirror the inner border. I machine stitched a blue binding to the front and hand stitched it to the back in the traditional invisible way🙂 Decisions, decisions….

I almost forgot to mention the wadding/batting which is 100% cotton Warm and Natural. Yep, I splashed the cash on this one! It was wonderful to work with. All the fabrics are by Moda.

Image

Here are some more close ups. I hope you like them🙂

Image

Image

I hope you have all had a lovely weekend. I must get back to the Granny Squares this week😀

Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Your quilt could be called sunshine and sea though! It’s the right colours. It’s beautiful. My longtime patchwork wip (which I haven’t blogged about) is blue/yellow too, but the colours of yours are much nicer.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much. You must get yours finished for the summer🙂 The only reason I called it “Memories” (previous post) is because of the previous owner of the machine I made it on. If it says Sunshine and Sea to you, that’s lovely too😀 Avis x

      Reply
  2. Natalie

     /  May 13, 2012

    See, now that’s amazing! I wish I had the patience to create something so wonderful. I only made a teeny patchwork cushion and I nearly threw it out of the window with frustration!! Fab job!🙂

    Reply
    • Well, you are fantastic at loads of things. I’ve just had a peek at your blog and I’ll be returning for more inspiration😀 I’m relatively new to patchwork (18 months or so). It is all down to the accuracy of the cutting I think. Have another go! Avis x

      Reply
  3. Avis, Love your advice to the above comments….right on!!!! That quilt is gorgeous! The quilting just brings it to life and gives it so much texture!!!! Just wonderful!!!! You should be very pleased, no proud, of the results…….Blessings and hugs, D

    Reply
  4. witchylin

     /  May 14, 2012

    Another fantastic quilt Avis. The colours are fabulous, fresh and bright for summer. Your meandering wiggle has had the desired effect. The squares certainly do hide behind the grid. I bet it will be a favourite on Etsy. Well done.

    Reply
  5. Very pretty!

    Reply
  6. I really like the colours in your quilt. Like someone said earlier: Sunshine and sea!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  7. Beautiful quilt! I love the fabric you used – so pretty! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Hi Avis! This quilt became really beautiful! Thank you for linking to my blog! As you said good sun light helps so much with photos! Now when I was in Finland I saw how big difference it was there and even there was sunny day, still it wasn’t so lightful like here in Greece. Happy week to you my friend! x Teje

    Reply
  9. Hi Avis! This quilt became so beautiful! It has really a summer feeling! Thank you for linkin to my blog! Now when I was in Finland I saw how big difference there was with the light. Even in sunny day the light wasn’t quite enough – for me as I have used to this stron sunny light in Greece. It really heps with photos! Happy week to you my friend! x Teje

    Reply
    • Yes, my daughter was in Helisinki during April a couple of years ago and the ice breakers worked in the harbour every day. Brrrr! You can’t have everything I suppose🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog Avis. I enjoy your comments. Your blog brings back dear memories of a long time friend and mother of a friend who just passed, she was an avid quilt maker and did wonderful work as you do. You indicated you were having problems with your photos not displaying the true colors of your beautiful work, I took the liberty of editing a couple of your photos and was able to brighten them up considerably, you can contact me at traxalot@yahoo.com I would be happy to send them to you, If not no worries and thanks for reading my blog.

    Reply
  11. It’s just lovely! You did a wonderful job on it!

    I can never figure out how you quilters choose the colors. If I tried to put the colors together it would look like something one of the dogs chucked up.🙂

    Reply
    • Well, I started with a pre-cut pack of squares by Moda. They make up packs of 42 different squares from the same design range so all of the different colours are used throughout the pack. They can’t fail to go together well. After that, I chose Moda plain colours, white and blue to match my favourite colour in the pack (plundered from my shop). Don’t tell DH! Just look up Moda charm packs on-line, you’ll see what mean about the coordinating colours. Even if you simply sew a charm pack together and put a border around the outside, you would get a gorgeous lap quilt🙂 If I can do it, anyone can😀

      Reply
  12. I always love seeing photos of your quilts. You’re right about the sunshine, there just ins’t any of the good kind that works for taking photo.
    Can I introduce you to a free online image editor? Ipiccy.com is what I use now that picnik.com has closed down. The “nuetral picker” feature will correct the colour balance (photos looking too blue/pink/yellow) problems caused by crappy British sunshine. Click on the “colour” button on the left hand side and then select “neutral picker” and click on part of your photo that you know should be white. Simple enough that even I can use it.
    Claire

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Claire🙂 I’ll certainly try everything. Hutch (above) emailed me some great tips too (if you haven’t seen his blog, it is certainly worth a look at his pictures) so the next batch should improve. I have to admit, taking the photos isn’t my favourite part of blogging and I do get tired of waiting for “nice” weather here, especially this year!

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

