That’s a mean green sewing machine!

Happy weekend everyone!

I would like to share my latest WIP with you. It is proving to be very special to me. Not because it is a complicated work of art. No, actually, it has been very straightforward and quick to put together so far, apart from me slicing my finger with the rotary cutter 😆 The reasons I’m enjoying this project soooo much is because it is made mostly from a Moda charm pack called Summer Breeze II which DH bought for my birthday a couple of months ago AND I’ve pieced the entire quilt top with my late Mother-in-Law’s vintage Viking Husqvarna sewing machine which was finally repaired last week (year of manufacture still to be determined). You can see it here if you haven’t already 🙂

I’ve named this one Memories. I hope you like it 🙂

Image

I’m off to see what you have all been up to now, dodgy reader permitting 🙂 Then I’ll be working on more Granny Squares. Have fun!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  May 11, 2012

    well done, and hope your finger heals quickly

    Reply
  2. I love blue & yellow together. So fresh and summery! Hope your finger is better soon! Ouch! Take care with that cutter!!! xoxoxox

    Reply
  3. I like it, I think it´s nice when the blocks create a sort of 3 dimension in the quilt. Hope you understand what I mean, it´s hard to explain 🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  4. I love it. I havent been able to sew much. Last week we were on vacation and this week appointments and other things. Hopefully over the weekend I can start my next quilt.

    Reply
  5. I love it! !!It feels so calming and looks so crisp. What does it measure? I have to say, your style is so visually appealing to me! Have you considered getting your patterns published? I can work from almost any pattern but creativity to make my own, I envy you!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much 🙂 It is only small, lap size I suppose. It measures about 41 inches square at the moment with just the binding to add. I designed it so the backing can be used straight from the bolt which is 43 inches wide rather than pieced (for once). I will be writing a pattern with photo tutorial soon and it will be available in my Etsy shop. Actually, I might put it in my Ebay shop too 🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  6. Beautiful. I love the squares behind the squares.. If you see what I mean!!

    Reply
    • Yes, I do. It’s just an illusion 🙂 Hopefully, my next photos will show the colours better. The light was fading here.

      Reply
  7. It’s very lovely. Tell me…..will I learn to quilt from this blog? 🙂

    Reply
    • I hope so! There are a lot of great videos on Youtube. I particularly like the Misourri Star Quilt Company ones as they are very clear. Come on Jodi, join the fun 🙂 Samson and Delilah would love quilts 😀 Avis x

      Reply
      • They surely would! My daughter’s mother in law quilts and I have one of her cast offs on the bed. 🙂 someday I will have the time to learn. Until then I will live vicariously from you!

        Reply
        • Well, I’m learning from you all the time too. Eventually, I will get a dog of my own but in the meantime, I’ll continue to enjoy reading about yours 😀

          Reply
  8. Love it!! This one is an awesome ‘canvas’ for your quilting……..so many possibilities!! I think I just changed my sewing plans for tomorrow…..gotta be quilting! Hugs…….

    Reply
  9. Hi Avis! This is beautiful! Love the fresh colours and the pattern is great! Have a wonderful weekend! Teje

    Reply
    • Thank you Teje 🙂 I’ve finished it today and I’m hoping for a sunny day tomorrow so it can be photographed by the sea!! I bet my sea isn’t as blue as yours. Avis x

      Reply
  10. Beautiful! Simple piecing but sooooo effective

    Reply
  11. witchylin

     /  May 12, 2012

    Another gorgeous colourway, not to mention the quilt itself. I do love the illusion of squares over diamonds. It will be so special as you have sewn it on the Viking Husqvarna from fabric given to you by DH. Whenever I look at quilts I want to get going on another one for myself. I have been promising a special one to Gary for a while now so on Monday I will be cutting and piecing. Might even get sewing by Wednesday. Tonight there are granny squares and a waterfall cardigan to carry on with. New resolution “Finish one project before starting another”. Fat chance!!! Hope the finger is OK. You can’t risk blood on a quilt.

    Reply
    • My finger is fine thanks, just a bit sore when it gets wet or knocked. I quilted all day today and I’ve just finished the binding, so it is finished 🙂 It was nice to make something small and quick to complete. I knew it wouldn’t be long before you were doing patchwork again! I love starting new projects 🙂

      Reply
  12. Hi Avis! Love the grid effect. Nice to hear the finger’s OK. I use a cutter, but I don’t love it. Because accidents happen. 😉 Have fun with the crochet squares.

    Reply
    • Look out for photos of the finished quilt tomorrow 🙂 I am usually very careful with the cutter but forgot to retract the blade as I moved the fabric. At least there were no drips on the patchwork 😉

      Reply
  13. The quilt is so beautiful. The colours are fantastic and what a special machine you are using to create it 🙂

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

