The Man Who Can…..Did!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Today has been a wonderful day for me πŸ™‚

Some of you will remember, almost at the beginning of my blog way back in February, that I was faced with a dilemma regarding an old non-working Husqvarna Viking sewing machine. It belonged to my late Mother-in-Law and I needed to decide whether to have it repaired or not. If you need to read the full story with all the lovely comments from yourselves again, or even for the first time, you can find themΒ here.Β 

Anyway, after consulting fellow bloggers, the decision was made to allow “The Man Who Can” to take a look at it and Β give a price for fixing it, if possible. After a couple of weeks, I thought he had probably had time to find out what was wrong, so I gave him a call. Unfortunately, Mr Fix-It was not available.

UNDERSTUDY: Are you talking about the old green Husqvarna?

ME: Yes, has he left a price for me? It’s been a couple of weeks now.

UNDERSTUDY: He’s looked at it and got it working but none of us are allowed to touch it.

ME: But he was supposed to be ringing me with a price before doing anything. I don’t want to spend a lot on it!

UNDERSTUDY: Well, he’s decided it is his little “project”.

ME: Please ask him to call me because I told him not to do anything until I had a price.

By now I had visions of my Mean Green Sewing Machine being in bits on a workshop floor somewhere. I was quite worried! Anyway, Mr Fix-It did call back later. He explained he wanted to be given time to locate an original motor to keep the repair as authentic as possible. He had got the old motor chugging but it wasn’t going to last. I knew that this was probably the case because it blew the electrics in the house every time the pedal was pressed. He also confirmed that the foot pedal needed to be replaced which was quite correct as it had bits rattling around inside it when it left here. I agreed that original parts would be the best solution, if they could be found, on condition the price was right. He was to continue looking and given more time.

So, it is now May. There’d been no news on the machine. I decided to get an update……..Mr Fix-It was unavailable.

UNDERSTUDY: Are you on about the old green Husqvarna?

ME: Yes, has he left a price for me? It’s been a couple of months now.

UNDERSTUDY: He’s looked at it and got it working but none of us are allowed to touch it.

ME THINKING: Deja vu!

Anyway, after discussing with the understudy, the chances of original bits ever turning up, I agreed it would be best to get a new motor put on and to buy a new pedal. This would cost Β£60 inclusive of parts, labour and fetching it back to me. In my view, if Mr Fix-It wants to continue to look for genuine Husqvarna parts, that job could be done later, but in the meantime a repair was a good option.

So, within an hour, I had my Husqvarna sitting on my table, FIXED πŸ™‚ It has a new white motor on the back, which isn’t the most aesthetically pleasing, and a new pedal. It runs so smoothly and quietly, I can’t believe it! And it is sooooo fast.Β 

Here it is. A cast iron Husqvarna Viking CI 71. Isn’t it lovely!!!!

Image

There are a few scratches here and there but this machine has been a work horse in the past. DH remembers his mother making all kinds of things for the home and clothes for herself. Here is a picture of the back so you can see the white motor. You can’t actually see it as you sew πŸ™‚

Image

And here is how it sews!! Perfect πŸ™‚

Image

So, today has been a wonderful day for me. Mr Fix-It desperately wanted to do the right thing and keep the repair as authentic as possible. Whether there are any unwanted working original motors and foot pedals out there remains to be seen. What I really like about The Man Who Did is that he wasn’t prepared to do a cheap fix with cheap parts without fighting for my machine to remain true to the original. He really cares about the product and was looking for the parts in his own time. I’m really grateful to him for trying πŸ™‚

So now, all I have to do, is make beautiful things that Alice would have loved to have seen being made on her machine. I will be trying to do that from tomorrow πŸ™‚

If anyone knows what year the CI 71 Husqvarna was manufactured I’d be pleased to know. I have looked around the internet and emailed Husqvarna but had no luck yet.

That is the end of Wednesday’s bed-time story. They all lived happily ever after πŸ™‚

Β 

Next Post
Leave a comment

46 Comments

  1. I am so thrilled for you!!!! As you can see here: http://treadlemusic.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/almost-done/ I have my grandmother’s treadle. Before yesterday, I had no idea how old it was. I was able to determine the model # and did some Google searching and came up with a list of years/model numbers to determine that the year was 1918. Maybe you could do something like that. The internet has provided me with needed info on so many occasions!!!! These machines are so solid and perform perfectly. I wonder, sometimes, that these new machines have just too much “stuff” on them and need to get back to a basic, metal machine. My Juki TL2010Q does just that and I love it!!!! That white motor can always be painted to match (if you can’t locate one that’s original). It is GORGEOUS!!!!!! Uber hugs, Doreen

    Reply
    • Thanks Doreen! I’ll keep searching. The 71 makes me think 1971 but it looks older than that. I’ll keep looking. The reason I bought my Juki TL98P was because of personal recommendation and reading all of the American quilters blogs. They love their Juki’s! I would still like at least one more machine with lots of “stuff” πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
      • I haven’t even begun to explore the “stuff” on my Bernina (Aurora 440QE)!! Has a ton of stitches in it’s memory. The dealer refers to it as a “sewing computer”. Til I bought the Juki, I used it for regular sewing….pieces nicely, mending stitches are good. But now…..it’s put away and the Juki is used for everything I do—-and when the thunderstorms come I don’t have to be quite as careful about unplugging it (I always forget…remember the laptop and PC, though). I bought the Bernina because of the BSR (stitch regulator) but have found I prefer the Juki for the awesome stitching, FMQ, and it’s so quiet (compared to the Bernina!!!). Just my opinion, of course!. Have a great day…….:-D

        Reply
        • Now, I was advised not to buy the Bernina because I also wanted the magic BSR. They said after practice I wouldn’t notice the difference and that the Juki was faster. I saved a lot of money but would still like some embroidery stitches at some point. Funny, I also turn the shower and cooker switches off. I’d hate to be without those πŸ™‚

          Reply
          • That advise was excellent!!! A quilting friend of mine just purchased the same Bernina as mine but a “demo” with very few hours on it. She says that she tried the BSR feature (didn’t really have it set up just right) and went to just FMQ (w/o the BSR) and liked it. Didn’t have the heart to tell her that the BSR function is actually limiting once you are comfortable with FMQ!!!! Even Leah says that a feature like that becomes a limiting factor once a reasonable skill level is achieved. I have mentioned it before, had I found the Juki first I would NEVER have spent the $3,000+ on the Bernina!!!!!!! Timing is everything, I guess!! Hugs, Doreen

            Reply
            • Well, I never had that kind of budget in mind so it was an easy decision for me. I often wonder what I would have bought if I’d been given a blank cheque. Is there one machine out there that does everything? Probably not πŸ™‚

              Reply
              • Ya know, it depends on what is really wanted. My last Bernina was a 1020 and I replaced it with the newer 440QE. The first is a mechanical machine with lots of built in stitches. I used it for about 20 years while I had my sewing business (made/altered bridal gowns and formal wear). It is an absolutely wonderful machine. I,now, understand that if you can get your hands on one they are a treasure!!!!! I traded that machine for a beautiful futon couch (from a gal friend). I was working at the time so the new Bernina was affordable and I thought the BSR was so necessary for FMQ——WRONG, oh so wrong! Having said that, I would look for a mechanical machine that has some/lots of built in stitches (the older machines are more metal than plastic!!) like my old one. They are workhorses! and aren’t that $$$$. Check on-line used item lists/for sale lists from private parties. Good luck! Hugs, D

                Reply
  2. How exciting – lovely machine!

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  May 3, 2012

    how wonderful to have your vintage machine back home and working (even if the parts aren’t original).
    Reading your article made me have a few regrets . . . I inherited two vintage Singers about 25 years ago: my Mum’s hand-wranked machine which probably dated back to the early 50s and my husband’s grandma’s treadle Singer which was even older (probably 1920). Unfortunately, I didn’t sew 25 years ago, and only kept these machines (gathering dust) for a few years before literally giving them away . . . and then when I finally got into sewing I went and bought myself a cheap no-brand machine that does the job but is totally lacking in charm.

    Reply
    • I learned to sew on a hand cranked Singer when I was 10 (with Miss Fox :-)). It was a beautifully smooth machine. You can rest assured, those old machines you gave up will be sitting in someone’s workroom, purring away and giving their new owners a lot of pleasure. They really are treasures. My little Toyota was very cheap and basic but it does the job very well too. Avis x

      Reply
  4. Hurrah!! It is so pretty and you can’t see that white motor at all from the front. You’re not really going to be looking at the back very much are you.

    Doreen – my grandma had the exact same treadle machine as yours. I remember sitting under it treadling away, playing trains! I also loved investigating the contents of the little drawers too, lots of treasure in there. Sadly I think it got sold either when she moved house or later when she died. I SO wish I could have kept it but I guess I wasn’t in a position to at the time. I also remember my mum having a hand cranked Singer. No idea where that went. If I ever see either of these machines for sale anywhere, it’s the kind of thing that would come up at our local sale room, I would definitely be bidding!!

    Reply
  5. I have a Husquarna Viking Esmerald sewingmachine. ItΒ΄s pretty new and I love it! My mother had an old green Husquarna, some years younger than yours, I think. I learned to sew on that one. Now my sister got it. My machine is white, but for me the real Husquarna always will be green πŸ™‚
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
    • Well, it is going to be given a serious work out! I forgot to photograph the wooden case which is covered in a sort of tweed fabric. Very old fashioned and much better than the floppy plastic one which came with my new machine. Avis x

      Reply
  6. witchylin

     /  May 3, 2012

    What a find for you….A Man who can and did!!!! These days you just don’t get people like him very often. I am sure you are happy to have it at home now where it should be. I have my Singer Magic 22 in for service/repair right now. It is throwing the needle forward onto the foot when I sew a straight line. Not when I sew zig zag??? I took it in this morning and discovered there are quilting classes held upstairs in the shop. He also sells fabrics, wadding and just about everything for quilting. I found him about 16 miles from home on the internet and thought he was just a machine repair shop. What a find for me!

    Reply
    • That is brilliant. I’ve been to a couple of workshops. It depends on the teacher whether they are good and worth the money but the atmosphere is always great πŸ™‚ Have a go! Sometimes there are drop in sessions where you can just sew and contribute to tea and cakes Nom nom!!

      Reply
  7. You could embellish the motor….sparkles, beads, etc! πŸ™‚ Just kidding! My first sewing machine was a Singer in a wooden case like that. Wish I still had it…. 😦

    Reply
    • Ha-ha more bling Yey! Have you got your sewing room sorted yet? Mine is a mess!! I’m going to tidy up and hoover tonight πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Yes, I did and it’s wonderful! I have so much room in there now that I could make snow angels on the floor…..if there was snow in there! Just sayin’ that I have lots of room. I just need to work at keeping it clutter-free.

        Reply
        • I must admit, I make as much mess as I want to and then when I get to the point of changing to another project, I have a good old tidy and clean. Then it feels like a new room again πŸ™‚

          Reply
  8. Good job – even with non-authentic parts! Seems like it was worth the wait!

    Reply
  9. I have really enjoyed your Happy Ever After story! Like one of your blogging friends, I did have an old treadle of my grandmother’s, but not any more. I do love old machines ….. well I suppose old anything really!
    You were so blessed to have Miss Fox don’t you often think?
    Enjoy your happy weekend,
    Val xx

    Reply
    • Thank you very much!I often think of Miss Fox when I’m sewing. She is probably still giving me hints and tips πŸ™‚ I hope so anyway! Here’s wishing a lovely weekend to you and Bella! She is the double of my Godmother’s dog Judy in the 60’s. We had a lot of fun together πŸ™‚ Avis x

      Reply
  10. How wonderful that must be to run your hands along the machine your MIL used to make clothes and other items for her family. You are very lucky to have such a treasure from her.

    No matter how hard I try, I can barely sew a straight line. 😦 I’m very jealous of those who can sew.

    Reply
    • Yes, it is lovely. I’ve been giving it a polish today πŸ™‚ Still trying to find out the year of manufacture. I’ve been reading your blog for ages. I love dogs and would love to have one of my own. I’m getting lots of tips from your tales πŸ™‚ Thanks for visiting my blog, Avis x

      Reply
  11. Oh, congratulations! What a lovely machine πŸ™‚ and so brilliant to find someone who cares about fixing things properly.

    Reply
  12. Such a beautiful older machine. I have an Husqvarna Viking Emerald 116. More modern, of course, but I’ve been so please with the Viking sewing machines.

    Reply
  13. Just passing by

     /  June 25, 2012

    You are likely to find someone in this group who can tell you when the machine was made:
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/vikingsewingmachinespre1980/

    πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. dezertsuz

     /  August 11, 2015

    Did you ever find out the date? I love my Viking, though it’s only 19 years old this summer.

    Reply
  15. Hello! I also have one of these lovely machines. I was picking up another repaired machine yesterday, and showed the “repairer” pictures of this machine to see if he could find belts for it. These were missing when I bought it. I say belts in plural,as i found a photo of this with two belts, he doubted that it needed two and now I see on yours that you only have one. Whilst in the shop/ repairers, my sin called from the charity shop he works, saying that a lovely Bernina Matic (810 I think) had come in and would I be interested….. I have a lovely workhorse Bernina 730, but who could pass up another Bernina.
    I love all old sewing machines and by chance have quite a few. The only machine I have, my latest and new, that I am scared of , is a coverlock machine in plastic. I thought as I have an old ans wonderful Pfaff that I should go for that, but the plasticiness of it is quite scary. I have to replace the front cover twice as the tiny feeble clips holding it in place have snapped off.
    i think I will take this Husqvarna machine in to see if I can get a belt put on. What a story you had.

    Reply
    • Hi Susan, welcome to my blog. I can confirm that my green machine only ever had one belt. My late Mother-in-Law bought it new in the 1950’s and she left it to me. When I first used it, the belt kept jumping off. It was very worn and slack. Anyway, it was a very cheap spare part to replace and it works superbly now. I was disappointed that I couldn’t find an original motor but I have no complaints about how it sews. These old machines are so simple mechanically and they’ll go on forever. I know what you mean about all the plastic on the modern machines. They cost such a lot of money and there is so much that can go wrong with them. I’ll never part with my mean green sewing machine. It’s real quality. Do you have exactly the same model as me? If so, I’d be happy to send you a copy of the original manual if you wish. My email address is at the right of this screen. Let me know if you’d like that. Avis

      Reply
  16. seeing this today because I have inherited my MIL’s old machine and it is EXACTLy the same model. I had it serviced and there was nothing wrong with it, but I needed to figure out the model so I can find out how to use it properly. (Currently desperately in need of figuring out how to fill a bobbin!)

    Reply
  1. Trip down memory lane « buriedinscraps

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

