Something to share…..at last!

I’ve been busy with the shop for the last few days but getting back on track again now! Busy, busy, busy, phew🙂

I’ve just added the black background to my French Braids that I made at Christmas. So here is a sneak preview. I hope you like it🙂 The whole quilt top is massive!! I think this one will have to be quilted with PIZAZZZ! Maybe some sparkle or beads or both🙂

I haven’t made French Braids before and after I made these ones with jelly roll strips, my daughter bought me a book with lots of other designs in. I just know I’ll make more! This one is just my own design. It took a while to work it all out because I wanted to use exactly 50 two and a half inch strips cut across the width of fabric🙂

Image

Happy Tuesday everyone🙂 I’m off to see what you’ve all been up to.

Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. I love the colors in this….it’s going to be a knockout!🙂 Can’t wait to see the finished:)

    Reply
  2. I love the colours, purple and green always look great together. I also just had a look at your etsy shop, fingers crossed it goes well. I still aim to set up an etsy shop but have decided to wait until I finish studying…I might be in contact for some tips when I get around to it.

    Reply
    • It is easier than blogging so you won’t have any problems at all🙂 but I’m always happy to help if needed. My etsy shop has been open for a couple of years but I just haven’t listed anything. The shop I’ve been so busy with is on ebay🙂

      Reply
  3. Blue and green – great fabrics. Haven’t seen any of them yet.

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  May 1, 2012

    you’ve chosen my absolute favourite colours – this is going to be SO pizzazz ^^

    Reply
  5. Looks nice!! Now I just have to consult my dictionary…..pizzazz?? French braids??? I´m learning a new english language🙂
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  6. The black sets those colors off wonderfully! And beads-“bling”-would be an awesome addition!!! Stunning!! Hope you got your blog ‘issues’ worked out!! Still haven’t figured out mine!-( Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
    • Nope, the reader still isn’t working. Nightmare! The idea behind the black is to give the appearance of stained glass. Avis x

      Reply
      • CanNOT wait to see the “whole picture”! I definitely can believe that the black gives the stained glass feeling—those jewel-tone fabrics just glow next to the black. Are you getting notices from the WP forum on this problem?? Here’s my link: http://en.forums.wordpress.com/topic/edit-list-will-not-load-blogs-i-follow?replies=17#post-875987

        Reply
        • Ha-ha Patience dear Doreen, patience🙂
          I took a look at your link as I’d heard nothing from WordPress. However, one of the volunteers, macmanx, mentioned trying Google chrome browser. IT WORKED! I’ve got so much to catch up on. Now I know how those people who follow soap operas feel when they go on holiday😉 I don’t really want to keep switching to Chrome but at least it will help until they sort it all out. Thanks again🙂 Avis x

          Reply
  7. Love the colours – carry on, I am looking forward to see more!!

    Reply
  8. Avis, That switching thing gets old but it does get the job done….for now. I know I had to use Internet Explorer for a while– Firefox is my regular browser. So glad you have something that works!!!!

    Reply
  9. Oooooo, very beautiful. Am looking forward to seeing the whole thing and the “pizzazz”😉
    The reader is not working at all on my iPad but is fine on the mac. Its driving me mad too. Since I often can’t get on the mac due to small/large boys, I normally use the iPad and I’m feeling a bit cut off from the blogging world!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Exactly, cut off, that’s how it feels. Can you get google chrome on an ipad (pardon my ignorance)?
      I should have guessed it would work for me as I had the same problem with my ebay shop months ago. Google chrome was the answer there as well but I just didn’t click, typical😉 I hope it is sorted for you soon!

      Reply
  10. Beads and bling…yes! That would be beautiful!! Can’t wait to see the completed project. Love the colors…love the pattern…love the quilt!

    Today was the first day I was able to access the reader at all with IE. At home, I have no problem with Safari on the mac. The ipad is a different story. Sometimes it’s OK with Firefox on the laptop. It’s just frustrating. But hope springs eternal….and maybe it’s on it’s way to being resolved!

    Reply
  11. Your French Braid is absolutely brilliant. I love all the colours together with the black background. Very striking indeed.

    Reply
  12. How are you getting on with this quilt? Or have I missed a post of it finished? PC has been playing up and I have missed a few things on other sites.
    I am still making the green-man quilt for Gary. It is getting there very slowly. However I am itching to try a French Braid.

    Reply
    • Hi, You haven’t missed anything. I am extremely busy with the shop and I also have a huge contract on other work which is going to take another month or so starting from today. I have finished the French braids quilt top and it will be a while before it is quilted. I also have a new top finished. I’m in the middle of writing a pattern for that one but I can’t get final photos due to the dark gloom outside. I will post about it when the photos are done. I haven’t posted since last week due to being snowed under. Jelly rolls and solids are flying out the door and I’ve had requests to make up other selections and fat quarter bundles too😀 Busy, busy, busy…. Enjoy the weekend! Avis x

      Reply
      • WOW! you are busy Avis. All good though. Great you are doing well in the shop. I will let the rush pass by before I buy more fabric. Sounds like I will have a lot of choice! I will get my quilt finished first. Could be slow as I have props to gather for a production of Calendar Girls later this year.
        Enjoy the long weekend.

        Reply
        • Yes, I’d rather be busy😀 It sounds like your quilt is coming along nicely. I suppose the theatre have deadlines so you don’t really have a choice there. It must be really nice to see your creations on stage! The last thing I saw at the theatre was over a year ago.We went to the Gala in Durham to see Ha-ha Holmes. It was really good. The props made the show. I believe there are other Ha-ha productions and I’d definitely go to see another. Have fun! Avis x

          Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

