I’m pleased I went back to this…….

Hi everyone. I hope you are all having a lovely crafty afternoon 🙂

Just a few lines to say…..I have started to crochet again, Yey!! I haven’t done crochet for years but there are so many of you lovely bloggy friends doing it, I just had to find that hook and see if I could remember what to do. I’ve only ever done basic stitches so I decided to see if I could remember how to do a Granny Square. They just kept multiplying 🙂 Like riding a bike, you never forget how to make these 🙂 I’ve just used spare wool and I think the hook is probably a bit big but it’ll do for now. Maybe one day I’ll splash out on some proper cotton and the correct size hook.

Image

Bye for now, I’m off to catch up with all of your lovely posts 🙂

Leave a comment

50 Comments

  1. Ooh they’re lovely!! I’ve got a pink/purple/cream vibe going on with my squares too – but haven’t been as busy as you, think I’ve only got about 12 big squares now but started a month or so ago!

    Reply
  2. Oh my! Certainly brings back memories (way back when in the ’70s!!!). Haven’t done them in years!!!!!

    Reply
    • Yes, we are reminiscing again. The 70’s were so colourful! What are you waiting for Doreen? Come on, join the hooky party 🙂

      Reply
      • Too funny! Save me a spot! Have a few quilts that are ‘must do’ first!!! Hugs, D

        Reply
        • Yeah me too!

          Reply
          • Had a very productive afternoon. Got 2 “Quilts of Valor” bound….Yay~ now, on to supper prep. Where does the time go!?! Hugs, Doreen

            Reply
            • Wow, well done!! I love binding (as you probably already know). What are Quilts of Valor?

              Reply
              • Oops, sorry! Here’s the official website: http://qovf.org/ Our local quilt guild works with the S.E. Minnesota group to provide a quilt for each returning soldier. Twice a year there is a large gathering to honor our military and they pick out a quilt. This coming Saturday there is such a gathering near Rochester, MN, where 25 quilts will be given. The numbers vary. Then, in a couple of weeks, our group will give out some more for a group called Wounded Warriors. Those are soldiers who have returned home after sustaining injuries in combat. Our little section of MN gives about 100 quilts a year. We, also, make quilts for the various local hospital (children cancer patients). Hope this answers your question.

                Reply
                • It certainly does. What a wonderful gesture, quilters are renowned for their generosity. The quilts will be treasured forever and the soldiers will always know that everyone was thinking about them while they were away 🙂 A quilt is such a comforting gift. Avis x

                • Quilts really are special especially in a day when everything seems to be ‘mass produced’ and quilts (for the most part) are made by hand, taking time. Each one comes with a note from the gal who made it along with a label sewn to the back saying “thanks”.

                • It’s a really lovely idea 🙂

                • 😀

  3. claire93

     /  April 25, 2012

    lovely colour combination ^^ Now, what are you going to do with them? make some more and make a blanket?

    Reply
    • Yes, I’ll definitely make more. I found it quite relaxing. Wish we had a bit of sunshine to sit in. It’s all grey again today….I might make a blanket for the dog I wish I had 🙂

      Reply
  4. Yay! Lovely hooky goodness!!

    Reply
  5. I never did manage to learn how to crochet. I’ve tried a few times, but just couldn’t get the hang of it, and so would always just go right back to knitting instead. One of these days, I really do have to learn it!

    Reply
    • I have been looking at youtube again 🙂 The videos are great. Much better than trying to follow a book. I want to make a ripple blanket but it’ll have to wait a while! Avis x

      Reply
  6. Denby

     /  April 25, 2012

    I’m thinking 3/4 length crocheted waistcoasts, we all wore them along with our crocheted hats and bell bottoms during the hippy era, or there is the usual coasters, teapot stands, cosies, and blankets. I wonder what will be next on this very interesting trip down memory lane.

    Reply
    • Hi Denby, I wonder 😉
      Yes, I remember all of those lovely clothes too! He-he! The crocheted hats are back in fashion. There are a few on Etsy if you want to return to the 60’s 😆
      Avis x

      Reply
  7. Lisa Mary

     /  April 25, 2012

    These are lovely and fresh-looking. Makes me want to pick it up again too! Nice job.

    Reply
  8. Great colours! Makes me think of liquorice all sorts a bit 😄. A blanket will be so cosy. Thanks for your recent comments. I always appreciate your contributions 😄

    Reply
  9. They look great! Well done and keep at it. Every time you get more spare wool, make some more and eventually, you will have a gorgeous granny square blanket!

    Reply
    • Well, the great thing is, I have 3 whole big balls of these colours, one of each. I’ll see how many squares that makes 🙂

      Reply
  10. Welcome back to crocheting! Nice colours too.

    Reply
    • That’s the good thing about blogging. Now I have to continue to be productive 🙂 Thanks for reading and commenting on my blog. Very kind 😀

      Reply
  11. Oh sew cute!!! 😀 I love the colors.

    Reply
  12. Kelly

     /  April 26, 2012

    Your granny squares are gorgeous!!! They are exactly what my Nan makes! Everyone in the family has a blanket made of them – it’s her way of welcoming you into the clan. She makes it with your favourite colours but careful, don’t ask her for orange……ever…..

    Reply
  13. Everything ever crochet turns into a small babies hat 😦 *sigh*

    Reply
  14. witchylin

     /  April 26, 2012

    Love the colours of the crotchet squares. I have been making them on and off for ages and still have not done enough for a blanket. Ho hum will keep on quilting.

    Reply
    • Thank you! I think I’ll be doing mine now and again too. I expected to crochet today and didn’t get any done at all. Maybe tomorrow 🙂

      Reply
  15. Victoria

     /  April 27, 2012

    How Wonderful! They look great. Crochet is real easy to take with you when you go somewhere. And Grannys are even more portable! who hoo! keep up the good work!

    Reply
  16. Nice colour combination. Should make a pretty lap blanket. 🙂
    Years ago, I have been making these, too. I gave my blanket away only recently. But I found a forgotten plastic bag full of squares in the basement now. Maybe…? 😉

    Reply
  17. lyndellmaree

     /  April 28, 2012

    I’m yet to try granny squares – maybe I should give it a go too 🙂

    Reply
    • witchylin

       /  April 28, 2012

      Yes do it is fun and they grow quickly. As has been said before they are portable too so you can pop one in your handbag if you are out and abou, in waiting rooms or on transport.
      I take mine on holiday. I have made a lot but still not enough for a blanket.

      Reply
    • Come on then, have a go! I’ve just made another one this morning 🙂 Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

