Another tutorial tried and tested….

One of my readers, Witchylin, has sent me some lovely photos of the quilt top she has made using my tutorial. She even included some of her progress pictures. She seems very organised :-) Notice the lovely orange leaf cushions on the chairs. She made those too!

Image

The strip sets are ready to slice.

Image

Next, cut them up into squares.

Image

Put the squares together, draw across the diagonal, sew a seam either side of the line and then slice in two.

Image

Press them open and join the blocks to make this quilt top🙂

Image

If you want to follow the full tutorial it is here.

I’m so pleased, Witchylin took the time to record the steps and allowed me to publish her photographs. It is nice to see that the tutorial works and even better to see the quilt in different colours.

We will all have to wait a little longer to see the final result when she finishes it. I’m really looking forward to that🙂

Thanks again Witchylin!

Latest update: The Finale!

Witchylin has sent some photos of her finished strip quilt. It is fabulous!! I love those colours together🙂

She decided to quilt “In the ditch” around the main square blocks and added a striking black backing and border to set it all off.

Isn’t it gorgeous!!!!

This was the quilt in the making. All the pinning is back breaking on a big quilt.

And another little treat….quillows. I must have a go at these myself one day! I’ve always admired this idea and Witchylin’s are lovely🙂 Complete with her dog…..thinking “I might just have a lie down on that snuggly quillow”.  Enjoy!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. witchylin

     /  April 19, 2012

    Thank you for posting the pictures. I will let you have pictures of the finished article. I am thinking of backing it in black and using black as a narrow edge. I am not too sure how I will quilt it. Probably just some wavey lines using the machine. Has anyone any ideas what colour I should use for the machine quilting stitches?

    Reply
    • You are most welcome🙂 It will be lovely to see it when it is finished. Good luck!

      Reply
      • witchylin

         /  May 4, 2012

        May 4th.. Nearly finished as far as the machine quilting is done. I still have the edge binding to do. It will have to take a back seat for a few days now so hope to complete it by the end of next week.

        Reply
        • OK You are doing brilliantly already🙂 Now you know your way around the blogs you really must have one of your own. It would be brilliant!! Everyone is so positive on here. It really is just a case of choosing your favourite design and writing just like you do emails. Go for it. If you don’t enjoy it, you don’t have to continue. It is all free🙂

          Reply
          • witchylin

             /  May 4, 2012

            I am still fighting against blogging. I really don’t have the time to spend on it. The odd post and email is OK but I have too many other things to fill my day. Whoever said retirement was boring was crazy.

            Reply
  2. claire93

     /  April 19, 2012

    ooohhh what lovely colours Witchylin is using – very effective

    Reply
  3. Those colors are really pretty. I think I would use a thread that is colored between the 2 purples. Not so light as to “jump out” on the darks and not so dark as to be really dominant on the lighter strips. Love the way it’s “fractured”! Look forward to see what comes next! Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment Doreen. Someone told me you had been shopping in the fabric store…..🙂 Avis x

      Reply
    • witchylin

       /  April 20, 2012

      Thank you for your thread colour idea treadlemusic, I had not thought of that. There will be a shade somewhere between the two I am sure, I didn’t want to use the other blue/green colours as they would disappear over them and stand out too much on the purple. Can’t wait to finish it. I am just so busy right now. I hope ti get back to it end of next week.

      Reply
      • It really looks like a fun project to quilt. For me, it would be one of those items I would have to look at and ponder just how to quilt. The over all look is so interesting and I seem to find a pattern, then it shifts. So much going on to keep you looking at it!!! Can’t wait to see how it turns out! Hugs, Doreen

        Reply
        • witchylin

           /  April 20, 2012

          Doreen, I hope you can’t find a pattern in the top because the abstract idea was just that. No formal lay out. Thanks to our chief blogger I have found a multi coloured thread in purple, blue and silver. That should do the trick. I have ordered it so will have a better idea when it arrives. As for the actual quilting I have no idea yet. I too will have to ponder and procrastinate a bit until I find the ‘look’ I want.
          I’d love to see some of your work. can you get out top blogger to post some or do you have a blog of your own? Cheers

          Reply
          • Hi Witchylin, Just click on the name “treadlemusic” next to their little photo at the beginning of their comment. You can visit any other blog by just clicking on their name. Enjoy🙂

            Reply
          • Oh, you bet I have a blog you can check out : http://treadlemusic.wordpress.com/ I believe in including a picture (of some sort!!!) in most every post I do! Grab a cup of whatever “floats your boat” and come on over and ‘set a spell’!!! Would absolutely love to have you stop by, hugs, Doreen

            Reply
  4. Wow it’s beautiful with those colours, too! I have made my first ever sewing kit – thanks to you and your tutorial! x Teje

    Reply
  5. You make that look soooo easy but it can’t be and it is beautiful. thank you

    Reply
  6. So glad you have inspired people to make some of your creations. I have three things waiting to make from your inspiration! Cannot wait until I have the time to make them…

    Reply
  7. Congratulations–particularly so close to a post about a person who inspired you, isn’t it good to see that you are paying it forward?

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

