All done and dusted….

Happy Monday everyone!

I showed you this quilt top a few posts ago and I’ve now added borders, wadding and backing. I quilted all over with variegated thread to match the caramel colours in a meander wiggle.

Image

All of the fabric is Moda Bella Solids. I really enjoy working with these fabrics as they are lovely and soft and snuggly. Here are some close-ups.

Image

Image

The binding is double thickness for durability and attached to the front by machine. I then hand stitched it to the back in the traditional way.

Image

Image

So now it’s time for a cuppa and to go and see what you have all been up to at the weekend 🙂

Next Post
Leave a comment

58 Comments

  1. quirky

     /  April 16, 2012

    This is beautiful, really well done, I love the fabric and your binding is very professional 🙂

    Reply
  2. quirky

     /  April 16, 2012

    …and I’m easily lead 😉

    Reply
  3. That is gorgeous!! I love the way the pattern seems to be “fractured”…..gives the eyes so much to look at but not tiring at all. The earthy colors are among my all-time faves, too, and Moda does seem to be my choice most of the time. Your binding technique is the one I use, also. I can depend on it to produce the nicest finish on both sides! That is an awesome piece! Happy Monday from my little corner of the world!!! Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
    • HI Doreen, thank you for all your encouragement 🙂 Most of my methods are researched from youtube. I look at the videos and choose the one that suits me best and I liked the idea of double thickness for strength. I really enjoy hand sewing the binding too. It is my favourite part. Avis x

      Reply
      • Yup, considered ‘therapy’ after a time of seclusion at the machine. Doing the final sewing of the binding by hand is the only portable portion of a quilt I have these days so I save it for evenings!-D

        Reply
  4. What a beautiful quilt! I love the colors, and the stitching is so pretty. Thanks for sharing and inspiring!! 🙂

    Reply
    • I’m sitting under it now on the sofa 🙂 Snug as a bug in a rug! I agree it is nice to share ideas. I’m learning so much from reading other quilter’s blogs too.

      Reply
  5. Very nice! I love the movement in this quilt.

    Reply
    • Thank you Candy 🙂 I think I would quite like to do some optical illusion quilts some time. That would take a bit of planning!

      Reply
  6. GREAT Post! Hope you enter + share this pretty awesome giveaway on my blog http://lezoemusings.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/1st-giveaway-hint-mad-men-inspired/ Best, Kellie

    Reply
    • Hi Kellie, Thank you very much! I love you blog too. Only trouble is I can’t enter the giveaway as I’m in the UK. Shame…..my daughter would have loved that chair 🙂 Avis x

      Reply
  7. This turned out fabulous!!! I love how the pattern makes your eyes automatically roam over the whole pattern. You did a great job with the quilting too! I am still anxious over FMQ!!! Good Job! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Wow it’s really nice. I love the warm fall colors. I still need to make a post for e award. The only thing is that I don’t follow many blogs so I don’t really have anyone to nominate.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much 🙂 Please don’t worry about the award nominations. You don’t reallly need to nominate at all. I just wanted you to have the award really 🙂

      Reply
  9. It looks fab (of course) I just wish i had your patience for quilting! Do you use a machine or do it all by hand?

    Reply
  10. claire93

     /  April 16, 2012

    you are so industrious of late, are you sure you don’t have 36 hour days or maybe 9 day weeks where you live ^^?

    Reply
    • Nope, I’ve just given up the day job (for the second time). I now only work a few evenings per week away from home. So, I’m on quilty crafty overdrive. Give me a few weeks and I’ll burn out 😆

      Reply
  11. Hi Avis! What a wonderful quilt it became! That pattern is so interesting and great! You did the quilting also so quickly! x Teje

    Reply
  12. Your quilts always look very professional. Mine don’t come out like that (well, I have only finished one. My second is on pause!). I’m not so neat and accurate :s

    Reply
    • I’ve always used a sewing machine from the age of 10. When I was about 12, I made my Mum dresses out of crimplene (in the 70’s). She was so trusting! It was easy to learn dressmaking with crimplene because it didn’t fray so there was no overlocking and the fabric had a bit of stretch so was quite forgiving. I think I would have enjoyed sewing professionally but it wasn’t to be 🙂 Anyway, you have made some fantastic things too!! I wouldn’t be following you if you didn’t He-he!

      Reply
  13. Thankyou 😉 My mum did the making with crimplene. I wasn’t as lucky as you… I had to wear it lol! I remember me and my sister having matching dresses made from it. There was a pale pink one with little flowers printed on and later one with a fake denim patch print. I shudder to think of it now!

    Reply
    • I’m sure you will have some rather fetching photos just like mine 😆 I had to wear it too!! Luckily, my sister was nine years older than me. When she got her first job, she bought me a leatherette mini pinafore which I loved (I’d never had anything above the knee before) and a few weeks later she bought me a pair of trousers (not a frock) from a BOUTIQUE. My sister saved me from so much ridicule at school……not to mention the ringlets and NHS specs……get the picture? Oh no, now look what you’ve done 😀

      Reply
  14. The quilt is beautiful! The colours are so well toned and the binding, backing and quilting is fantastic. What an achievement!

    Reply
  15. Wow, look at all your matching lines! It’s perfect. Lovely job!

    Reply
  16. Well done! Your quilt is very beautiful!
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  17. I am in love with the design of this quilt! Can you teach me how to bind? Haha! Oh, I feel I will never finish my quilt because of the darn binding!!!!

    Beautiful.

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂 Here is a link to the video I learned how to do it from. The only thing I would add is….if you are using a 4 ounce wadding, make your strips 2.5 inches wide rather than 2 inches. (Actually, I always use 2.5 inches as I like a slightly wider binding).

      If you don’t want to tackle the binding, just make a giant sandwich of quilt top, backing and wadding, sew together around three sides and turn inside out before finishing the last side. You can then top stitch half an inch from the edge all the way around to make a fake binding look. When you put the sandwich together, test to make sure it will turn inside out correctly before you sew. Hope this helps 🙂

      Reply
  18. Lovely use of solids and your binding is a think of beauty. Precision work!

    Reply
  19. Oh wow! I’m loving this quilt pattern and the quilting on it too!
    Claire

    Reply
  20. witchylin

     /  April 26, 2012

    Your finished quilt looks wonderful. You have really inspired me to get on with mine. My variegated thread arrive this afternoon so no excuse I need to get quilting. Your quilt is perfect all the points join where they should and the binding looks brilliant……now if only I could get mine to look like that! Will post pics early next week.

    Reply
    • I’m sure yours will be perfect too! Do you like your thread?

      Reply
      • witchylin

         /  May 1, 2012

        Yes thank you for the link. I am very pleased with the thread and the colours look perfect. Next problem…….I am not going to free motion machine the quilt like yours. I did a little practice on a small sandwich of the fabrics and wadding I have used. I do not have enough experience to do that yet. It is also very difficult to support the quilt while I try to machine it, therefore I have opted to sew in the ditches and when that is completed I may machine a number of straight(ish) rows of stitches to show off the thread. I did look at a number of videos on how to free motion quilt but they ALL say practice. Well I’m not going to practice on this one. LOL. Will let you know how I go. Most of the videos I looked at recommended spray on stuff to hold the quilt in place. Do you use that?

        Reply
        • Yes, I’ve used temorary spray baste before. It holds everything in place. You can buy it from the same place as the thread I think. Quilting in the ditch will probably accentuate the clean lines of the geometric design. Sounds great! Take your time 🙂

          Reply
          • witchylin

             /  May 1, 2012

            I have been quilting in the ditch and it has sure shown up the not quite so perfect joins. Still this is my first quilt like this so I am not too worried. Thanks I think I will try the spray baste for the next quilt.

            Reply
            • I’m sure it will be fine. The quilting is only really done in the ditch to hold everything together, I suppose. The eyes will most likely be drawn to the geometry first. It will be interesting to see what it is like compared to wiggles 🙂

              Reply
              • witchylin

                 /  May 2, 2012

                I think wiggles look better because they are totally different from the geometric lines of the top. Once this is finished and I have completed the other projects that are on the go I plan to do some free motion practice. Have thought of making small squares and quilting them free motion as I go, then joining them together with sashing if I can.

                Reply
                • Well, it looks like Doreen will be able to give plenty of tips on FMQ 🙂 I’ve seen the quilt as you go method before. The are videos on youtube. Have fun. Avis x

  21. Lovely! I’ve “pinned” hope thats ok, message me if you’d rather I removed it

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

