I spy with my little eye…….

Here is my second I-Spy quilt made from the same Moda layer cake as the one in my previous post entitled Another one bites the dust! This fabric had literally been kicked around the floor of my local fabric shop. Nobody wanted it but I couldn’t resist those bright colours😀

Please enlarge the photo to get a better idea of the colours.

Image

I made the top months ago but finally got around to quilting and binding over the last couple of days. The other one has a blue border and backing and is a bit smaller than this one. There are more photographs of the fabric designs here but I’ve taken some more in poor light this morning……another grey day here!!

I love all the animals and alphabets🙂 Ready for a game of I-Spy?  The next photo shows the red border fabric at the top with all the animal noises!

The back is bright red🙂 I quilted all over in a meandering wiggle. I used a rainbow thread which changes colour every couple of inches. You might be able to see it in this photo.

 I hope you all have fun stitching today. It’s raining outside here  :-(

Oh well, I might have to sew today😉

Leave a comment

25 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  April 11, 2012

    can’t believe nobody wanted such lovely bright fabric – your quilt is so much fun. Well done ^^

    Reply
  2. I saw some beautiful rainbow quilting thread a week or so ago and I thought how lovely it could look on a single-colour quilt. I think my new goal is to do a quilt all in black, with the rainbow thread.🙂

    Reply
    • Hi Ria, well this thread looked horrible on the reel but the lady in the shop took a little off the reel and let it sit on the fabric. I’ve seen it used on plain navy blue fabric and it is gorgeous as it has lovely sheen. Black would be perfect🙂

      Reply
  3. creative pixie

     /  April 11, 2012

    such a colourful quilt. One is on my to-do-list!

    Reply
  4. Hi! What a wonderful quilt! Great colours and so many sweet little animals! x Teje

    Reply
    • The fabric is from Moda. It is called Animal Alphabet. I bought the layer cake and then a few weeks later spotted remnants of matching fabrics. These became the borders and backing for the blue version. lucky find🙂

      Reply
  5. Well! the fabric found a good home with you! Beautiful!

    Reply
  6. That is such an awsome quilt😀 perfect for kids….or big kids😀

    Reply
  7. That is a wonderful quilt, I can’t believe no one else wanted the fabric.

    Reply
    • I know! I just kept looking through the squares in the shop and I coluldn’t put it down. Enlarging the photos makes the colours more true🙂

      Reply
  8. That is one happy quilt! I can see why you couldn’t pass that fabric up.

    Reply
  9. lyndellmaree

     /  April 13, 2012

    Gorgeous – so bright and fun🙂

    Reply
  10. It is just gorgeous!! Rain on!

    Reply
  11. They’re definitely precious, beautiful, and made with LOVE. My granddaughter would love them all. Thank you so much for your idea, time, and sharing. Best, Mtetar.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

