Yippeeyahooanawoopdeedoo!!

When I started writing this blog about 12 weeks ago I never thought anyone except my immediate family would be interested in what I was up to. I thought it would be a good way for me to record my progress and if anyone else wanted to read it, then that would be a bonus. I was surprised to find that after only a couple of posts, bloggers around the world had “liked”, commented and/or decided to follow my blog. I started to read more and more fantastic blogs about all sorts of subjects and found I enjoyed reading as much as writing.

As there are so many wonderful blogs out there, I was extremely surprised and very grateful when a lovely fellow blogger, The Modern Home Economist nominated me to receive the Liebster award. I am delighted to accept🙂 In fact, I was stunned to read that she had thought I was worthy to receive such an award when there are so many other great blogs out there! The only thing is, my family think it is hilarious that I was nominated by someone who strives to be the perfect homemaker, wife, cook etc. as they all know this is the complete opposite of me🙂

The Liebster Blog Award, from what I can gather, is given to blogs with less than 200 followers who deserve recognition for their interesting content. Also, to drum up some extra publicity for fairly new blogs.

I could never live up to The Modern Home Economist’s standards! Her blog is well worth a visit if you enjoy cookery and crafts.

Anyway, by accepting the award I ageed to:

1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to me (see above).

2. Copy and paste this award on my blog.

3. Reveal my top 5 bloggers and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.

Drum roll please……………Here are my nominees in no particular order. I hope they accept🙂

Claire93 This is a lovely blog which mainly celebrates cross stitch. Claire is so supportive of others. She has shared several patterns which she has spent many hours designing for her own use. Claire also writes a blog in French!

Made By Patch Trish has so many wonderful talents! She can crochet, knit, cook and sew. Check out the textile art on her tote bags🙂

Handmade By Victoria Sharing fab ideas for sewing, quilting and other crafts. Victoria is a real inspiration to others.

More Quirky Than Crafty This lady has no idea how good she is! Her blog shows several different crafts. Her little plant pots are sooo cute. Check them out!

Not Without the Bike I’ll leave it up to you to discover this real gem! Lots of lovely photographs. A personal journal which brings back memories to me.

Many thanks again to The Modern Home Economist for giving me the award🙂 I’ll try to keep my blog interesting and hope you will continue to enjoy it!

 

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Congratulations !!!!!!!!!!! Really good news, looking forward to more new posts…

    Reply
    • Thank you Barbora! By the way, your new quilt is FABULOUS!! Can’t wait to see it all finished. Those colours are delicious🙂 Quick everyone, go and take a peek!

      Reply
  2. claire93

     /  March 21, 2012

    I have to say that you deserve the award – your blog might only be young, but your articles on quilting and photos are excellent. As a newbie to patchwork I find you very inspirational and what’s so nice is that you write very naturally and enthusiastically about what you do.
    I am honoured to receive the Liebster blog prize too (oh gosh, I didn’t have time to write my speech ^^)
    Will post an article on my blog about that over the weekend.

    Reply
  3. What can I say? How kind of you to think of me as a nominee. I have to admit, my interest in patchwork quilts has always been passing, and usually restricted to cold winter evenings. However, your blog for me has been like an exercise in pure enthusiasm. You seem to express your own pleasure in your amazing work so well that the reader can’t help but share in it.Congratulations on some excellent handiwork, an excellent blog, and a well deserved award.

    Reply
    • Aw! Thank you Stevie🙂 I wish I’d had quilts instead of my rubbish sleeping bags when camping. Come on everyone, pop over to read Stevie’s blog. No, not telling what it is about, go and see for yourselves. I nominated him for the Liebster Blog Award today!!!

      Reply
  4. craftingismybliss

     /  March 21, 2012

    Congratulations on your award. So cool. Love your blog.

    Reply
  5. quirky

     /  March 22, 2012

    Congratulations! What a lovely thing to receive and how very kind that you chose my little blog to share it with! I really enjoy it when you visit, you’re a very encouraging person which is something novices like me really appreciate. Your photos and explanations are always fabulous and I really enjoy following your blog and your chatty writing style. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  6. Thank you🙂 I’m new too and all the support makes me want to blog more and more! I never thought I’d enjoy it this much. I’d recommend blogging to everyone🙂 I just wish I had more time.

    Reply
  7. Sounds like you have a lot of fans out there that also think you are deserving of some recognition. I love that your family laughed that I nominated you for an award even though we are opposites, haha. I guess opposites can have simular passions! Keep up the great quilts and posts…

    Reply
    • My Mum was always very busy in the home cooking, cleaning and caring for everyone else. I remember what seemed like endless tasks of washing and ironing when I was very small and I looked forward to my Grandad calling to see us because we always played dominoes together while she got on with her chores. I think I was put off at a very early age🙂 However, Mum also knitted all of my sweaters and cardigans and her sister was an amazing dressmaker. I have so many wonderful memories of helping Mum to wind wool and watching her knit intricate patterns while Aunt Edith would be pinning paper patterns to fabric ready to sew. I think that side of them rubbed off on me most. Thank you for your sweet comments again🙂 Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

