Sneak preview of a near disaster!

I had high hopes of getting this one quilted today but I’ve run out of the bottom thread. Why didn’t I just use cream! I’ve got plenty of that. No, I’ve used a lovely blue instead because it works really well with the back of the quilt. Hopefully, I’ll be able to buy more but it won’t get finished until next weekend now. It is so frustrating!!

Here is a sneak preview of what I’ve done so far. Progress has been very slow asΒ my machine totally jammed and tangled at one point with my quilt stuck fast. I had to undo a few screws to rescue it. It is a miracle I didn’t put a hole in the top. I was dreaming up ways to repair it duringΒ a whole hour of patient wrestling. I’m happy to have saved the quilt πŸ™‚ I have the day off tomorrow and was planning to bind it. Oh well, it looks like I might have to start something else……

Β 

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. Ooh, frustrating about the blue thread!!

    I love, love, love what you’ve done with the triangles and twirly quilting – particularly the pink and white/cream one – it looks like it’s a beautiful old-fashioned windmill in motion!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much. My thread supplier has the thread I need but I’ve forgotten my password for the account. I’ll phone to order tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Hi there. Can’t find an e-mail for you so am going this way. Thanks for commenting on my give-away. You are a “no-reply blogger” so people can’t contact you if you win unless they post it here. Thanks, Carla

    Reply
  3. I’m thrilled to nominate your excellent blog for an award: The Liebster Blog Award, you can find all the details here http://themodernhomeeconomist.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/another-surprising-honour/

    Beautiful quilt by the way!

    Reply
    • Oooooh!! Jumping up and down and twirling around πŸ™‚

      Thank you very much! I’d be honoured to accept, especially from The Modern Home Economist, something I could never claim to be! I’ll have to take a look at what I need to do next. Thank you so much πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Such a pretty quilt. I love the blue.

    Reply
    • Thank you very much πŸ™‚ I’m loving your blog too!

      Reply
      • I never in my wildest dreams thought I would blog….really, who cares what I think. But I find that I really love it! Thanks for looking!!

        Reply
      • I know what you mean. My blog is very new and I like the way everyone is so supportive and encouraging. It’s amazing what we find to read and write about. Avis πŸ™‚

        Reply
  5. Oh I can imagine how you felt. It’s going to be so beautiful quilt! x Teje

    Reply
  6. quirky

     /  March 19, 2012

    Yikes! I think I might have fainted!! So pleased you were able to rescue it πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. If you ever find out why it jams, can you let us all know, please? Mine does too. Always when I’m at least half-way down a long line of stitching!
    ClaireBear

    Reply
    • I hestitate to say this but I cannot recall my old Toyota from 1982 ever jamming and I still use it for piecing. It has been running up jelly roll strips all day today πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Love the quilting pattern, looking forward to see more.

    Reply
  9. Oh, that’s so frustrating! I’m always not buying quite enough yarn for crochet, and it drives me nuts! Looking lovely though:)

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

