Zing is here!

I got the pinwheels out again yesterday and do you know what?………when they were all laid out separately, I thought they looked a bit washed out, bland andΒ faded 😦

Image

Now, it isn’t like me to feel like that about Moda fabrics and they did look great when they were all together in my snail picture above…..but I just needed them to zing a bit, no A LOT more, and they weren’t zinging at all!

So, I made them zing by putting them with some Moda Bella Solids Robin’s Egg.

Image

Now, I’m thinking…….Is it a bit over the top? OrΒ does it just scream Springtime?!!!! I’m getting used to the colours now.

Here are a couple of close ups for good measure πŸ™‚

Image

Those pinwheels look like they need some swirly, twirly quilting treatment.

Image

Well, that was my sunny Sunday. I had a lot of fun and hope you did too πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

39 Comments

  1. It looks amazing!

    Reply
  2. claire93

     /  March 12, 2012

    oh wow – just love that blue !

    Reply
  3. It looks fresh

    Reply
  4. It’s def. noticable!

    Reply
  5. This is beautiful and the blue isn’t too much, it compliments it perfectly.

    Reply
  6. Love it… I have a few moda charm packs and let me tell you… I am stealing this idea!!! It is wonderful, it really enhanced blocks that I already loved!

    Reply
    • Thank you very much! Do you mean putting the blue and white blocks in? If so, email me as the sizes of the strips are not quite the same. Avis x

      Reply
  7. I think it really pops – just like blooms in Spring!

    Reply
  8. I love the blue – it really makes it pop! Great idea. Amy x

    Reply
    • Thank you very much Amy! I’m really sorry about the late reply……for some reason unknown to me, your comment was waiting for my appproval and I didn’t spot it. I’m loving your blog by the way πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Oooooo definitely zingy lol! Reminds me of cold bright springy days. I like.

    Reply
  10. Bracing winds. Brrr! It’ll calm down with quilting….she thinks (hopes) πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Victoria

     /  March 13, 2012

    Love love love it!I cant wait to try my own! I almost picked up some pinks and browns to work with. I may go back and pick them up this weekend πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • To make the blue and white strip block you need the cream strip cut two and a half inches wide and the blue strips two inches wide. Then they will be the same size as the pinwheel blocks. That is, if yoou want to copy my pattern πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Victoria

         /  March 13, 2012

        oooH I do! I do! thanks for permission and the measurements. I can’t wait to finish the things already on my plate so I can get started.

        Reply
  12. Well, if you have any of that blue that needs a home….

    Great!

    Reply
    • He-he, I know you like blue πŸ™‚ This one isn’t quite a subtle as your wedding dress which was gorgeous by the way πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • It was a fun dress for a perfect day. Simple and lasting. Hmm…maybe it does have more in common with quilts than I originally thought.

        Reply
  13. Your pinwheels are perfect set in that lovely blue solid fabric. Springtime fresh.

    Reply
  14. quirky

     /  March 13, 2012

    I love the blue! It makes the Moda fabrics sing!

    Reply
  15. I think the blue is perfect! Makes me want to run outside in my bikini πŸ™‚

    Reply
  16. The blue robin’s egg really makes it…I love using colour to brighten things up and this looks really good. A perfect springtime quilt.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

