Feeling patriotic?

I’ve been a bit  busy for the past couple of weeks so I didn’t get a lot of sewing done. However, I have now managed to finish this quilt top which has been in progress for a couple of years🙂

The white fabric is a very pretty white on white Makower Ivy Leaf  design. The others are all Makower Spraytime. They are all lovely quality and really nice to work with. I didn’t set out to make a sampler style quilt. It just happened! I made a few practice blocks and quite liked the colours together. I picked it up and put it away again several times. The sashes were also a bit of an after thought but I wanted to make the blocks stand out and it seems to work.

Now I need some help from my blogging friends! I plan to back this one with white cotton fabric but I’m struggling to decide on the colour of the thread for quilting. Should I play safe and go with white or choose one of the other colours in the quilt top? I think I should probably go with white because of the crispness of the design and the colour contrasts but I’m happy to consider all of your thoughts if you would be kind enough to share them. I can easily be persuaded to do something different🙂 Any ideas?

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Victoria

     /  February 29, 2012

    What a striking quilt! I love it!. as far as a thread color my first thought was white but maybe that is playing it too safe my next thought was “I wonder if you could find a red/white/blue variegated thread” just a thought though that may be too much for some people.

    Reply
  2. Though white would keep the front looking crisp…a variegated thread would look just as nice on the back… I would imagine there would be a red white and blue option out there!!!

    Reply
  3. claire93

     /  February 29, 2012

    I love the way the colours flash ^^
    and, because I have never quilted, I’d tend to play it safe and use white lol

    Reply
    • Yes, I was quite pleased that the photo shows the true colours. Sometimes my camera makes the reds go a bit orange. Thanks for visiting again🙂

      Reply
  4. Hi! That is so beautiful and bright quilt! I like to use colours when quilting but I think white would be very good for this. But because the backing is white, quilting with colour would be wonderful! x Teje
    PS. Because I’m hand quilting, I would quilt some blocks with red and others with blue.

    Reply
    • I must hand quilt something soon. I do have an idea but it will have to wait.Watch this space because you inspired me to do the project which I now have in my head😉 Thanks for your comments!

      Reply
      • I’m happy to hear if you have find inspiration from my tryings! I follow you and I’m waiting to see what you have in your mind! x Teje

        Reply
  5. I’d suggest variegated thread too. I love the effect of the sashing, that was a great idea.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

