All’s well that ends well…..

I suppose my birthday started yesterday….with a visit from my big sister🙂 She brought me fab prezzies!! There was a gorgeous calendar full of photos of her beautiful new baby Grand Daughter, the book of The Great British Bake Off which has the recipes from the TV programme, Belgian chocs mmm AND the icing on the cake, a lovely new quilting book🙂 She really does spoil me!!

So, today is my real birthday. DH presented me with the Moda charm packs which I chose a couple of weeks ago and ordered from a lovely Etsy seller in America. Who could want for more…..quilting heaven🙂

Well, I can’t wait to get sewing with those charm packs but I still have quilt tops ready to quilt and finish so I decided to be disciplined and attempt something I’ve wanted to do for ages…..make my own pantograph and use it on a quilt. I have never used pantographs. In fact, I’ve only ever quilted three tops. So this is either brave or stupid or both. I do enjoy a challenge, especially when I have all day to do it.

I started by getting out the quilt top and checking the block size. I’d had an idea about what type of design I wanted to do for a while. The blocks are 8 inches square.

It took a lot of drawing and redrawing to get to this final spiral for the size I wanted which was within a 4 inch square. I drew around the outside square so the repeats were easy to position later.

Then I traced the design onto some baking paper and went over the line on both sides with pencil.

As long as the line starts and ends in the same position on the outer square, the pattern will continue.

 And so on…..repeating the pattern to fill the page. 

This was fun! I got quite carried away🙂 Reflecting and off-setting the original design to create more.

And another…..

And finally…..

So, all I needed to do was photocopy a few of these, overlap and tape together in a long pattern piece. WRONG!!! My graph paper was in centimetres not inches!!! Aaarghh!! My design was inside an 8 cm square not a 4 inch one. I’d so enjoyed this morning, drawing out the patterns😦

Luckily my printer/copier enlarges images PHEW! but I needed to calculate the scale of enlargement. Well, 25 mm is more or less 1 inch so I enlarged by scale factor 1.25. When I measured the print, it was fine. All’s well that ends well🙂

As you can see, the enlargement meant I could only get part of the design on one A4 sheet. So I printed two, chopped off the bits I needed and made a new A4 size one.

That was good! Four designs fitted my 8 inch square perfectly. I copied more, then overlapped and taped them together, then laid them along the table.

With a bit of repositioning of the quilt on the frame and making sure the quilting would be correctly positioned when I started, I was ready to go. I was so nervous about spoiling the quilt top BUT it worked🙂

The last photo shows the back. It isn’t perfect but I’m pleased with it. Over the next few days, I should get the binding done. I’ll let you see the finished result. Watch this space🙂

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. claire93

     /  February 14, 2012

    you’re a February baby too ^^
    Happy birthday !!!
    and I love your swirls

    Reply
  2. You must have the best husband in the world! Those fabrics are lovely.

    I really like your quilt design…looks wonderful.🙂

    Reply
  3. I love it!!! I want this pattern… my aunt has a quilt frame and machine to do this. Unfortunately I’m too petrified to try. I think it came out wonderfully. Happy Birthday!!!

    Reply
    • Then you can imagine how scared I was! Too much work goes into a quilt top to then spoil it. I know you can unpick it but that isn’t easy🙂 Send me an email and I’ll send you a pdf of the swirls pattern🙂

      Reply
  4. Victoria

     /  February 15, 2012

    Keep up the Great work and Happy Birthday! What a great way to spend the day!

    Reply
  5. Beautifully done. I love the quilt as well. 🎁🎉

    Reply
  6. This is fantastic – very jealous of your frame😦

    Reply
  7. The charm packs look lovely – have you got itchy fingers? A happy belated birthday x

    Reply
    • Oh, thanks again and also for recommending the Etsy shop. It was fantastic service. I can’t wait to start but work gets in the way of what I really want to do. From about Easter, things should improve🙂 Im supposed to be off work this week but I’m still working from home! Such is life….

      Reply
  8. lovely quilting! Congrats on the b-day haul! I have that french braid book too – looks awesome.

    Reply
    • Thank you🙂 I’ve already got a french braid quilt top which I made a few months ago. It’ll get quilted eventually. This book shows lots of lovely colour ways and designs.

      Reply
  9. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! 14 th is a great day to celebrate and finally we are the same age – my birthday is 14.1.
    Your presents are so wonderful – wow – enjoy!
    And that quilt is really beautiful! I love those pinky colours and fabrics! Your quilting looks lovely!
    x Teje

    Reply
  10. This looks really beautiful, I love the girly fabric and swirls, it works so well together. Happy Birthday for yesterday, hope you had a good one x

    Reply
  11. Denby

     /  February 18, 2012

    I’m very impressed. Well done your quilt looks great. I might try this technique on the front of a cushion cover. Keep up the good work.

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

