Just rip it!

Well, I’m not the most confident artist in the land but I had a go. What’s more, I had lots of fun at the workshop for this project. It is supposed to be a machine embroidered seascape but my machine only does straight and zig-zag stitches! I wish I’d taken photos of some of the others made with more modern machines.

The teacher kept saying “Just rip it!” when she found me carefully rotary cutting pieces of fabric :-). I’m so used to precision, that I wanted a neat and tidy picture which wasn’t her idea at all. I can fully understand what she meant but I couldn’t bear to tear the fabric (and I don’t like frayed edges but she insisted, that I included some).

My sister came along too :-). She made an African style sunset (again very neat and tidy) with lots of lovely orange, red and gold batiks. Some of her embroidery was done with gold and copper tone metallic threads.

Anyway, we enjoyed the day, met lots of clever artistic people and were secretly pleased with what we had acheived for a first try. I just need to buy a frame now. I think it will have a wide cream mount and pale wood, as if it was washed in the sea.

Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. handmadebyvictoria

     /  February 3, 2012

    This is beautiful! you should be very proud of it. I too have a machine that does maybe one or two more stitches other than straight and zig zag. I would love to attempt something like this but I think I would need a class or workshop to boost my confidence. Very very nice!

    Reply
    • Thank you! It was really easy to do and mine was made in a couple of hours. The backing is a piece of very thick interfacing. The idea was to cut wavy shaped scraps then overlap and sew down for the sea, then straight bits for the sky. Start at the horizon. Some of the other students had all sorts of lace, net, plastic bags etc. to add texture.

      Reply
  2. Joanna Reichert Photography

     /  February 5, 2012

    Wow – you made that?? It’s gorgeous – and marketable! I imagine you could charge a pretty penny for great-looking handmade quilts with such color and design.

    Reply
  3. Gosh! I’m really surprised, especially coming from an artist like you 🙂 This one is actually just a quilted/embroidered picture rather than a bed quilt. I’ve never tried to sell anything I’ve made, as most of my projects are first or second try at a particular technique, see previous posts. Thank you so much for your comments.

    Reply
  4. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog and for your lovely comment. This is lovely! It will look beautiful framed in the cream, just as you describe.
    Welcome to Blogland!

    Reply
  5. Thank you 🙂 I will put some photos of my canvas work on my blog soon!

    Reply
  6. Hi! I’m happy to meet you! Your seaside picture is fantastic! I would love to see some close photos! I guess I am like you – most often I make too nead and tidy but I try to push myself to make something more ‘free’.
    Sunny wishes from Greece! x Teje

    Reply
    • Hi! I’ve just tried to take photos but it is now behind glass in a frame so they are no good! Next time I make one, I’ll include more photos 🙂 Thank you for your interest!

      Reply
    • P.S. I’ve just noticed my new yellow dot on my visitor map. There you are 🙂 🙂 in Greece.
      I’m a bit addicted to my dots!

      Reply
      • Thank you for those sunny faces! You have visitor map with yellow dots?! I don’t know if I could have them, too?

        Reply
        • The yellow dots show very new visitors and the red ones are previous visitors. The bigger the red dot, the more frequent the visitor. I love it!!
          Just click on my map and follow the instructions to get one for yourself. It takes a couple of days to start showing dots.

          Reply
  7. This is lovely. Do you have a darning plate for your sewing machine? If so you could use a free motion embroidery foot in all likelihood 🙂
    Thank you for your comment yesterday – it was just all a bit too much; stupid thing to be upset about but more of an emblem of what is wrong really. Never mind about long comments, I don’t – see 😉

    Reply
    • I’m not sure what a darning foot is (maybe the one with a circle which I use for quilting on my other machine) but I was advised by the teacher to use a walking foot for this and drop the feed dogs. I’ll definitely do another picture because of the lovely comments I received. This blogging thing really spurs you on to have a go! Great to see you bounce back 🙂

      Reply
      • The foot is the one with ring – the darning plate is a piece of plastic with a slot in it which fits over the feed dogs – I can’t lower mine because it is a basic machine.

        Reply
  8. Oh, I know what you mean. My machine is from 1980 and only does straight and zig-zag. It is a Toyota and I think they were ahead of the game for their time. However, I have recently invested (had to save up for a very long time!!) in a Juki for quilting. Again, just straight stitch but VERY fast :-), too fast for piecing.

    Reply
    • Ooh will have to google – does it have a big harp then? mine is quite small just a basic Singer but new (September) I have an old brother upstairs but its accessory box is broken so it doesn’t complete the table properly – hence the new one (which was bought for my daughter’s Christmas present, hence the first quilt … it’s all quite complicated really) 🙂

      Reply
  9. Well, I’ve actually got 3 machines now I come to think about it! The Toyota, the Juki and an old Husquvarna inherited from my late Mother-in-Law. I tell you what…….I’ll take photos and post about them tonight hehe. You are soooo inspirational 🙂

    Reply
  10. Lovely, Art Quilt. I can understand the challenge to RIP, and have frayed edges, it goes against the skills you learn, and being a tradionalist it is challenging to break out….. The raw edge revolution is well and truely here – I have had one poor attempt, which has been filed in th etoo hard bin – LOL

    Reply
    • I like everything to be neat, precisely measured and perfectly matching (well as good as I can get anyway!) and this method went totally against the grain for me. I was trimming the tears with my rotary cutter hehe! Teacher didn’t see that bit 😀 Raw edge is not for me but I do have a gift from a dear friend which uses this method and it is beautiful. I love it 🙂 Avis x

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

