How long will it be before this one is quilted?

This quilt top is the second one I ever made. I’ve used another photo for my blog header (in case you hadn’t noticed). I love purple!

Anyway, it has been made for about two years now and I still haven’t got around to quilting it.

It is not that I don’t want to do it. It is because I am afraid I might mess it up. I need more experience and then I will go for it.

I think the blocks are called Ohio Star.

I decided to put a dark frame around to set off the stars, followed by a wide border. The thin lilac border will fall over the edge of the bed.

All of the fabrics are by Makower. The white is Essential Scrolls and the lilac and dark purple are Spraytime. I love working with Makower fabrics! Unfortunately, the photos don’t do the fabrics justice. The white one is particularly gorgeous .

I will definitely make other quilts with stars as I really enjoyed making these blocks. They are all 12 inches square.

Maybe next time, I’ll use batik fabrics. Who knows. Don’t watch this space for the quilted version for too long. It is definitely going to be a while before it gets done :-).

Next Post
Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I love this quilt!!!! It is called an Ohio star and I will tell you I have seen it in many color combinations and it looks great in all!

    Reply
  2. Aw! Thank you. That is most kind 🙂

    Reply
  3. handmadebyvictoria

     /  February 1, 2012

    It is beautiful… Don”t be afraid to quilt it. I have one that I even have layered and all it needs is quilting. It has been this way for 12 years now. I just didn’t have the inspiration to quilt it. It will get done this year if I only quilt it in the ditch… it’s just screaming to be used!!!

    Reply
  4. I love the darker border…welll…I am sure we all have a quilt or two in our possession that has been sitting around for a while to be quilted…sure is lovely!

    Reply
  5. Yes, I have a few but i’m starting to reduce the pile and make use of them now 🙂

    Reply
  6. Gosh – i can’t believe you’re afraid to quilt this – you’ve made beautiful quilts before! And you know what? If you start and you think you’ve gone wrong… you can unpick it. It’s not the end of the world. It’s such a shame to make something, love it and not use it. Go on! I think you’ll be fine 🙂

    Reply
  7. When I’ve quilted just a couple more, I promise I will do it 🙂 Thank you so much for the encouragement and kind comments. I’m off to see what you are up to now! Avis

    Reply
  8. Michele

     /  February 11, 2012

    It is lovely – well done. If you want to get some practice why don’t you try enrolling on one of the online courses at Craftsy.com. They are brilliant and good value for money because you have permanent access anytime, forever. I am doing the Anne L Peterson one at the moment and will use my new skills to quilt the one I am creating as part of my quilting group of new sewers – we are following their free block of the month course which is great for beginner quilters. Good luck!

    Reply
    • Yes, I’ve heard of those courses. I’ll definitely take a look. I’m off work for a week so plenty of sewing will be getting done. That’s the plan anyway 🙂

      Reply
  9. My first quilt…I didn’t exactly quilt it. All I did was put a stich through and tie it at each corner of the square.
    I think most of my pathqork will go that way, I really don’t have a patience for quilting (how strange is that, patience to patchwork and cross stitch but not quilt??)

    Reply
    • Yes, the quilting isn’t my favourite part either. I like hand sewing the binding best, which a lot of people don’t enjoy. Maybe it is because I can test the quilt as I sew underneath it 🙂

      Reply
  10. Mmmm, I think my faviourite part is when you’ve just sewn all the layers together and can wrap it around youself whilst doing finishing bits (especially in winter when it’s freezing!)

    Reply
  11. I know the feeling! I wish email was never invented sometimes 🙂

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

