It only takes a few minutes…to write a new post

I thought I’d share some photos of my cushions which I made at a workshop.

I signed up for this workshop, knowing only that I would be making a cushion. My sister had seen the advert and persuaded me to go with her.

Each quarter of the cushion front design is made on a piece of cotton fabric with the sewing lines drawn on. I think it is called foundation piecing, correct me if I’m wrong🙂

It isn’t quilted at all but still has enough body from the extra layer of foundation fabric. I made the back in a deep envelope style from the darkest fabric which matches the front.

We had a lot of fun at the workshop. It was nice to do something we hadn’t tried before and we were both pleased with our results. One of the best parts was seeing how different colour choices made the designs take on a whole new look.

For some reason my photos disappeared when I first posted this. Here is the updated version!

There was plenty of fabric left to make another one so I swapped the colours around.

I did think about sewing a giant button in the middle but decided to let the fabrics do the talking in the end.

 

 

 

 

Another close up just for good measure. I hope you like them

🙂

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Sybil

     /  January 23, 2012

    It’s lovely! I really like the navy fabric with the swirly motif. Thanks for visiting my blog, also.
    Cheers-

    Reply
    • It is called Tivoli Scroll by Makower and this one is actually chocolate brown with gold metallic swirls. It is available in lots of colours🙂

      Reply
  2. Lovely cushion – really like the autumnal colours.

    Reply
  3. Gorgeous fabric – good call about the buttons!

    Reply
    • Thank you!
      By the way, the Moda charm packs I’ve ordered are:
      Hello Luscious, Natures Chorus, Rose parade, Summer breeze II, Etchings,
      Fa La La La La, Grace, Dogwood Trail, Pom Pom de Paris. Nine should keep me busy for quite a while!!! I’ll let you know when they get here but they are DHs birthday present to me so if he intercepts the post, I won’t know until I’m another year older🙂

      Reply
  4. claire93

     /  January 23, 2012

    gorgeous
    I have a slight preference for the second version with less white (or is it ecru?) but they’re both masterpieces

    Reply
    • If you click on the first photo to enlarge it, the colour is more true to life. It actually looks like creamy, mottled leather (if that makes sense). Thanks for visiting again🙂

      Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

