Two mini finishes!

Hi everyone,

I hope you are all well and happily crafting this week! I’ve got a couple of small projects to show you.

Firstly, I made another log cabin chicken and sent it to my friend Claire for her birthday.

CIMG3129

She has called her Twinkle because she has stars in her eyes Smile I attached a felt circle and a star-shaped bead for each eye. I wasn’t too sure about adding them but I’m sure Claire can cut them off and recycle them if she wishes. I filled this one with split red lentils so it is nice and heavy too.

Now, if you know Claire and visit her blog, you will know that she prepares for Christmas all year long. She’s always making little things which she squirrells away for presents and stocking fillers. In fact, she had me making things for Christmas last October!!! I’m usually the kind of person who is still running around on Christmas Eve. Anyway, as a surprise, I also made Claire a Christmas decoration and sent it to her wrapped in Christmas paper. Yes, I do know it is February Winking smile She could choose to open it or keep it until Christmas :lol: I bet you can guess what she did.

CIMG3131

I’ve seen these decorations many times on the internet and in magazines and they are really simple to make. This one took me less than half an hour so I know I’ll be making many more. Let me know if you’d like a tutorial and I’ll post it here for you very soon.

The news from my other blog is that my ripple blanket is now finished. Hurray! If you haven’t seen it yet, pop in and take a look over at Sewing Beside the Sea :-)

I’d also like to give a shout-out to my dear friend Teje who has just published a wonderful pattern for a crocheted scarf on Craftsy. The pattern is full of clear photographs to show you every step of the way, as well as having written instructions, and I can’t wait to make it myself! You can find out how to get the pattern from Teje’s post by clicking here. Here is a sneaky peek. You’ll have to go to Teje’s blog for lots more colourful photos and to find out who is modelling the scarf. I wonder…. Enjoy!

IMG_6000

It’s almost the weekend and I’m on holiday next week YEY!! I’m going to sew, sew and sew some more Smile

Avis x

Leave a comment

48 Comments

  1. I love your christmas decoration, in my house its never too early to start being christmassy. I started making last year’s christmas presents in april lol :-)

    Reply
  2. I just love miniatures! Great job!
    Did you get that chicken pattern anywhere on line? I’d Love to give that a try.

    Reply
    • No, there’s no pattern really. Just start by cutting a one inch square of fabric and sew one inch wide strips around and around until you get the desired size. My chicken is about 4 inches tall so if you want one that size just count how many strips I added on my photo. You will need two of these square log cabin blocks to make one chicken. The tail is just two squares of fabric cut to different sizes and folded diagonally twice. There should be only one raw edge on these to sew into the back seam. The underneath seam is hand stitched following stuffing. Don’t forget the beak etc :-) There is more info and photos here:

      https://ohsewtempting.wordpress.com/2014/01/11/chicken-run-giveaway-sort-of/

      Thank you for visiting. Please send me a photo if you make a chicken and I’ll post it here :-) My email address is at the top right of this page. Thank you for visiting my blog!

      Reply
  3. Hi Avis! I love your little birds! They look so cute with the details you have add. Great idea also to fill with lendles to get them hevier. I made once simple birds with one fabric and filled them with pillow filling, but they fall down all the time.
    Thank you so much for your sweet words about my crochet pattern! I hope you enjoy it!
    Hugs! x Teje

    Reply
  4. claire93

     /  February 13, 2014

    oh yes Twinkle is snug here in France and yes, it’s xmas here all year round ^^
    did Mrs Chicken make it safely to Australia?

    Reply
  5. Avis,
    I LOVE the new little chicken & I think Claire chose the perfect name for it. WTG Claire!
    Your Christmas Ornament is also gorgeous! I was looking at different quilting videos on u-Tube Tuesday night & came across this one. I think i’ll be making some too.
    Christine

    Reply
  6. Lovely! I bought those star beads in Darlington when I was about 13!

    Reply
  7. I love the little chicken and the Christmas ornament. Oh, if I could only think Christmas in February. :) Love to see the tutorial if you find time to write it. (I tend to safe wonderful tut’s for my days when I am without an idea of my own. ) :)

    Reply
  8. Love the chick’s eyes…so much cuter than a plain old bead.

    Reply
  9. Nice Christmas ornaments! I have tons of festive fabric, maybe I’ll give it a try. :) Two circles, am I right?

    Reply
  10. Christmas in February is easier for me than in July (as some of the merchants would like us to think). It is good to have those little goodies, but I find that they are given as quickly as they are made….always nice for thank-you’s, etc. Love the log cabin chicken!!! Would love a tute on that little ornament!!! Hugs…..

    Reply
    • Thank you :-) I’ll definitely put a tutorial together soon. I suspect I’ll have a little production line going here just before Christmas. Today, I think I’ll do some quilting for a change. Have a lovely weekend!

      Reply
  11. I love Christmas all year-round. so yes a tutorial on your ornament would be lovely, great stitching Avis

    Reply
  12. witchylin

     /  February 14, 2014

    I’m with everyone else and look forward to seeing the tutorial for the Christmas ornament. I too have quite a lot of Christmas fabric and could use it up on the stars. They will make great gifts. Could do them in between other projects. The chickens are so cute. One day I may make one as door stop. It is so much fun when quilters share their designs.

    Reply
    • The chickens do make lovely doorstops. I tend to trip over my own feet so I won’t be making one of those. A tutorial is on its way :-) Have a lovely weekend!

      Reply
  13. I think you win the award for preparing for Christmas the earliest this year Avis ;)

    Reply
  14. love your chicken :-)

    Reply
  15. I love your little log cabin chicken – such a great idea. I would also love a tutorial on the Christmas decoration, as I’m determined to be better organised this year!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 632 other followers

