Happy Dancing!

Hi everyone, I’m happy dancing today because I have a finished table runner to share.

This one is extra special as it will be flying across the ocean to America on Thursday with my daughter. She will be staying with her friend’s family for Thanksgiving and we thought it might be nice for her to take along a gift that was made in England.

CIMG3027

Apparently, the family have a white wicker dining table which has a glass top and they use blue crockery. So I’ve used different blue solids with crisp white cotton. I hope they like it.

Here are some close up photos of the quilting…

CIMG3028

CIMG3029

CIMG3030

CIMG3032

I’ve densely quilted the runner so that it lies nice and flat. Too much “loft” might make vases etc. topple over. It measures 48 x 18 inches. I’ve also sewn a personalised label to the back.

I’m off to sew more of the blackwork which you can see on my other blog. Click here if you want to take a look.

I hope you are all having a lovely crafty weekend. Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments and emails. I really appreciate them all Smile

Avis x

Previous Post
Leave a comment

31 Comments

  1. Your table runner looks fab. Well done Avis.

    Reply
  2. creative pixie

     /  November 10, 2013

    The table runner looks beautiful-such a thoughtful gift.

    Reply
  3. What a delightful gift to send! It brings in a bit of the blue sky and puffy white clouds (yes, I said puffy)….I’m sure with the dense quilting it will lay nicely on the table and be a lovely addition to their dining!

    Reply
    • Thank you! Yes, it also represents the sea where we live as well as the clouds and the sea breeze. I actually named it ‘Ocean Breeze’. We just have to work out a good way to fit it into my daughter’s luggage :-)

      Reply
  4. claire93

     /  November 10, 2013

    a gorgeous piece of quilting.

    Reply
  5. Goes well with a Wicker Set. Blessings, Mtetar

    Reply
  6. Beautiful! I’m sure it will be much appreciated – I know it would be something I’d certainly appreciate if it were given to me!
    Alison x

    Reply
  7. It’s beautiful Avis! Like a fresh wind from the sea or blue sky with white clouds! I’m sure they love it. Have a great week! x Teje

    Reply
    • Thank you Teje. I’m just hoping it matches the decor. I was relying on their daughter passing me clues without their knowledge. It’s all a big secret but I know they won’t be reading this :-)

      Reply
  8. Elisabeth

     /  November 10, 2013

    Avis, I like your clear structured quilts! Happy Quilting!

    Reply
  9. That will be perfect for them! I, also, have blue/white dishware and I know that such a runner would be a lovely addition to my setting (her/their table….white wicker w/ glass…..is even more perfect!!!!). Really like the heavier quilting. You are so right about the danger of loft! Hugs…….

    Reply
    • Thank you Doreen! Well, I acted on instructions and this is what happened :-) Thank you for your contribution via email. It helped me to get my thoughts together for this project :-) Avis x

      Reply
  10. your secret is out, we know how much you love pinwheels, great idea

    Reply
  11. witchylin

     /  November 11, 2013

    They will be thrilled with the table runner and the colours are clean and fresh. It looks just perfect.

    Reply
  12. Denby

     /  November 14, 2013

    Beautiful Avis. Love the colours. I’m sure it will be much appreciated by the recipient.

    Reply
  13. titite54

     /  November 18, 2013

    super beau ton sapin et le chemin de table une merveille bonne soiree

    Reply
  14. I’ve nominated you for Blog of the Year – 2013. You can find the information here: http://myriad234.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/blog-of-the-year-2013/. I think your blog is awesome! :-)

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 585 other followers

