I’m seeing stars!

Hello everyone, I know it isn’t Christmas time yet but I also know that many of you are already making preparations for the festive season, so I thought I’d share what I’ve been up to.

The front cover of the latest edition of Fabrications magazine inspired me to make a star to hang on my Christmas tree….

CIMG2996

but I couldn’t stop making them!!

CIMG2994

CIMG2997

CIMG2993

CIMG2995

The magazine provides the template for the diamond but I didn’t use it. I had lots of Christmas fabric scraps in my stash so I just cut strips one and three quarter inches wide and then made a 60 degree chop every 2 inches along the strip. I pieced the front and attached almost all of the back by machine, taking care to position the hanging ribbon so I didn’t catch it in the wrong place with the stitching. Leaving a two side gap allowed me to turn it the right way and stuff it with poly batting scraps. I then sewed up the gap and attached a little star button to finish.

My buttons are from Bobbins & Buttons here in the UK and the service was first class! They had lots of other cute buttons etc. and I’ll definitely return to their shop soon.

My next sewing project is also for Christmas but isn’t patchwork and quilting. If you want a sneaky peek, pop over to Claire’s blog. She has been very busy creating gorgeous Christmas decoration designs and is sharing the charts with all of us for free. Please, please, please leave a comment for her if you download the charts. I’m sure that will make her smile inside. I’ll be making up one of her cross stitch decorations this afternoon and it’ll appear on my sewing blog Sewing Beside the Sea very soon.

I also need to say a huge “Thank you!” to Deborah for nominating my blog for this award:

the-most-creative-blogger-award2-from-deo

I need to tell you some things about me….what is it that you don’t already know?

1. I used to wear shoes like the ones above.

2. My Dad wanted me to be a chiropodist because he was convinced everyone would have “bad feet” in future years and I’d never be out of work.

3. My car needs to be replaced and I can’t decided what to buy with my very limited budget.

4. When I grow up, I want to be a lady of leisure with 25 hours a day to craft.

5. I hate the cold weather. My knees ache with the cold. Remedies gratefully accepted.

6. I would love to travel more and wish I could just teleport myself to visit other countries.

7. I like leftovers more than the original dinners.

My nominees are:

Claire for designing and generously sharing her free cross stitch charts.

Gun for sharing sooooo many links to projects that I must make.

Katherine for sharing 25 hours per day inspiration.

Trish because I love everything she makes.

Mary because she finishes huge projects.

I’m off to catch up with reading all of your wonderful blogs now. What have you been up to while I’ve been away? I wonder….

Avis x

STOP PRESS!! Voting has started over at Woolhogs. There is a record number of entries this month. Don’t forget to take a look at all the lovelies and vote for fun :-)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. Absolutely a beauty! Thanks for sharing. Blessings, Mtetar

    Reply
    • Thank you Mtetar. I haven’t posted for a while so it is lovely to see you again :-) Avis x

      Reply
      • You’re welcome Avis x is there a link for the pattern, or one will have to purchase the magazine? Blessings, Mtetar

        Reply
        • There is no free pattern. I just saw the star idea on the front of the magazine and then made up my own. I’ve given details of how I made the strips and chopped them into the diamonds in the text. I hope that helps. If enough people request a tutorial, I’ll write one with photos for my version. I’m sure I’ll be making more of these :-)

          Reply
  2. What a fun post, Avis! I LOVE those stars! And that shoe on your award is SO cute! Plus, I got to read more about you . . . and then you SHARED your award! Thank you! That made my day! :) Hugs, Katherine

    Reply
  3. Congrats to you and ALL your nominees! I’ll be visiting them. Mary your blog is beautiful and I like your projects. Katherine I’m visiting you’re the best supportive blogger. To the others expect my visit soon. Blessings, Mtetar

    Reply
  4. Hi Avis! Your stars are beautiful! What a lovely way to make them with diamonds. I can understand you couldn’t make just one. I have tried to make something with holiday theme but it’s difficult to think Christmas yet. Hugs! x Teje

    Reply
    • Hi Teje, I don’t usually get ready for Christmas until one week before. However, Claire has got me started this year. It is most unlike me :-) Avis x

      Reply
  5. Congratulations on the award! Remedy for arthritis – soak white raisins in gin and take a teaspoon with 9 on and the juice. Juniper is what you need, best found in gin!

    Reply
  6. Your stars look great, the tree will look so smart. Thanks for the nomination too :D

    Reply
  7. OMG.. this is so pretty.. :D

    Reply
  8. claire93

     /  October 31, 2013

    lovely to see you getting all Christmasy, Avis, and what a wonderful way to use up scraps ^^

    Reply
  9. Denby

     /  October 31, 2013

    What a great idea. I love them.

    Reply
  10. I´ve just been sewing a pincushion almost like your star :) Great idea! Thank you for the nomination.
    Gun, Sweden

    Reply
  11. Congratulations!!!! I love your blog…. :-)

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 587 other followers

