Pinwheels in the Sky

Hi everyone! Number five is finished! The blue bottom thread arrived in good time for the weekend and I managed to finish the quilting late last night. I’m so pleased I used blue for the back now, even though I questioned this decision last weekend when I couldn’t finish it. I was really quite concerned that I wouldn’t be able to find the same thread again as I’d used a pre-wound bobbin from a set of 12 different ones bought by DH for Christmas. Thankfully it turned out alright in the end, thanks to the wonders of the internet :-)

This is the back. I attached the cream binding to the front by machine and then hand stitched it to the back of the quilt this morning.

I pieced the back with blue and cream to inject a bit of interest and I wanted to show off the swirls on both colours. Here is the finished quilt.

I’m also busy with an autumnal jelly roll quilt top which I started while I was waiting for my thread for this one. I’ve taken a few photos so there might be a tutorial coming up soon. I just have to put the blocks together and the top will be done :-) It’s been quite a productive week considering I’ve been at work……

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. craftingismybliss

     /  March 24, 2012

    Wow, that is really pretty. Love the fabrics, the piecing and the quilting. Great job.

    Reply
  2. It’s so beautiful! I love pinwheeles, your colours and the quilting is great! x Teje

    Reply
  3. Looks wonderful!!

    Reply
  4. Looks good :D

    Reply
  5. Hi Amy, I hope you are having a nice relaxing day off today!

    Reply
  6. Well, if it’s not too rude to say, I love the back! (The front is nice too of course!) Very nice swirly quilting.

    Reply
    • No, each to their own ;-) One day, I might do a whole quilt from a plain piece of fabric. I’ll have to improve the quilting first though! Still loving your tatting by the way :-)

      Reply
  7. Nice!!! I really like the quilting!

    Reply
  8. I bought a charm pack just to try this! I can’t wait! though I promised myself I had to finish the other 2 projects currently going. I love this so much!

    Reply
    • Now I can’t wait to see it! No pressure of course :-) Did you decide not to accept the Liebster blog award? No problem if you did, I just wondered :-) Love your elephant by the way!!

      Reply
      • I will accept just haven’t had a decent block of time to sit and decide who I want to nominate. hopefully this week sometime I will be able to get to it! thanks so much too!

        Reply
  9. Oh, thank goodness for that! You really deserve it. Great blog!! :-)

    Reply
  10. This is a lovely quilt!

    Reply
  11. Sybil

     /  March 31, 2012

    LOVE the quilting on this one!

    Reply
  12. Thank you Sybil :-) Still loving your blog by the way!

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

