A bit of a rant!

Every now and again, I love to go to a quilt show with my sister and mum and we have a great day out. We usually spend far too much money and buy at least one kit to make up, knowing that everything will be in the bag and we won’t have to think about fabric choices etc. However, too many times, we have had to alter patterns because the pieces don’t fit together, add fabric because the kit doesn’t contain enough and also add wadding to a bag kit. One of my latest purchases for a different bag didn’t contain any buttons or fastenings which were on the demo model. The blurb inside the kit even states “We haven’t included buttons etc. as everyone has a stash of buttons”. Well I don’t have a stash of buttons and I particularly liked the buttons on the demo model. It is so frustrating! I thought I was paying so much for the kit (£25) because it was a nice design and I was happy to pay as I know how long it takes to design patterns. Rant over…

Anyway, this cushion cover kit had everything I needed, all the patttern pieces worked perfectly and there was even wadding and matching fabric for the back in the bag.

It was an absolute delight to put together!

This was my first attempt at “stitching in the ditch” and it isn’t perfect but I enjoyed trying :-)

I hope you like it and I apologise for my rant. I hope other bloggers have not had the same experiences as we have.  Will I buy more kits? Probably yes. :-)

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. A certain Cath Kidston crochet cushion kit springs to mind

    Reply
  2. and they aren’t cheap either!

    Reply
  3. The wool was rubbish and not even enough to complete the first side. Not pleased

    Reply
  4. Oh no!
    On a lighter note, still waiting for my lovely Moda charm packs to arrive. :-) Getting so excited!

    Reply
  5. claire93

     /  January 26, 2012

    feel free to rant lol. And wow, lovely cushion

    Reply

I really enjoy reading your comments. Have a lovely day :-)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 645 other followers

